NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
19 Oct 2021 - 04:37 EDT
19 Oct 2021 - 08:37 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Claudette at 39.0°N - 69.0°W

North Atlantic Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

17 Jun 2021 - 22 Jun 2021

Approximately 500 miles from the U.S. east coast


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

22 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE HAS BECOME A LOW PRESSURE TROUGH... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 11:00 PM AST Mon Jun 21 the center of Claudette was located near 39.0, -69.0 with movement ENE at 29 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

21 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE MOVING QUICKLY OVER THE NORTHWESTERN ATLANTIC AWAY FROM THE UNITED STATES... As of 5:00 PM EDT Mon Jun 21 the center of Claudette was located near 37.5, -72.1 with movement ENE at 29 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

21 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE NOW LOCATED OVER THE WESTERN ATLANTIC OCEAN MOVING AWAY FROM THE UNITED STATES... As of 11:00 AM EDT Mon Jun 21 the center of Claudette was located near 37.0, -75.0 with movement ENE at 28 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

21 Jun 2021 - 12:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE NEARING THE MID-ATLANTIC COASTAL WATERS... ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING DISCONTINUED... As of 8:00 AM EDT Mon Jun 21 the center of Claudette was located near 36.4, -76.3 with movement ENE at 28 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

21 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE REACHES TROPICAL STORM STRENGTH ONCE AGAIN... As of 5:00 AM EDT Mon Jun 21 the center of Claudette was located near 35.6, -77.6 with movement ENE at 25 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

21 Jun 2021 - 6:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE EXPECTED TO REGAIN TROPICAL STORM STRENGTH THIS MORNING... As of 2:00 AM EDT Mon Jun 21 the center of Claudette was located near 35.1, -79.1 with movement ENE at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

21 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE A LITTLE STRONGER... ...EXPECTED TO REGAIN TROPICAL STORM STRENGTH BEFORE REACHING THE COAST... As of 11:00 PM EDT Sun Jun 20 the center of Claudette was located near 34.7, -80.4 with movement ENE at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

21 Jun 2021 - 0:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE EXPECTED TO RE-STRENGTHEN BEFORE IT EXITS THE COAST OF NORTH CAROLINA... As of 8:00 PM EDT Sun Jun 20 the center of Claudette was located near 34.4, -81.3 with movement ENE at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE FORECAST TO RE-STRENGTHEN BEFORE IT EXITS THE COAST OF NORTH CAROLINA... ...LOCALLY HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS EXPECTED OVER PORTIONS OF THE CAROLINAS THROUGH MONDAY MORNING... As of 5:00 PM EDT Sun Jun 20 the center of Claudette was located near 34.2, -82.5 with movement ENE at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Jun 2021 - 18:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE STILL PRODUCING LOCALLY HEAVY RAINFALL AND POSSIBLE FLASH FLOODS OVER MUCH OF THE SOUTHEASTERN UNITED STATES... As of 2:00 PM EDT Sun Jun 20 the center of Claudette was located near 33.9, -83.5 with movement ENE at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION STILL PRODUCING HEAVY RAINS WITH POSSIBLE FLASH FLOODS OVER MUCH OF THE SOUTHEASTERN UNITED STATES... As of 11:00 AM EDT Sun Jun 20 the center of Claudette was located near 33.8, -84.2 with movement ENE at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Jun 2021 - 12:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE STILL PRODUCING HEAVY RAINS WITH POSSIBLE FLASH FLOODS OVER MUCH OF THE SOUTHEASTERN UNITED STATES... As of 7:00 AM CDT Sun Jun 20 the center of Claudette was located near 33.7, -84.8 with movement ENE at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING ISSUED FOR MUCH OF COASTAL NORTH CAROLINA... ...CLAUDETTE STILL PRODUCING HEAVY RAINS WITH POSSIBLE FLASH FLOODS... As of 4:00 AM CDT Sun Jun 20 the center of Claudette was located near 33.3, -85.8 with movement ENE at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Jun 2021 - 6:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINS FROM CLAUDETTE PERSIST ACROSS PORTIONS OF THE SOUTHEASTERN UNITED STATES... As of 1:00 AM CDT Sun Jun 20 the center of Claudette was located near 32.9, -86.7 with movement NE at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...CENTER OF CLAUDETTE MOVING INTO CENTRAL ALABAMA... ...HEAVY RAINS AND GUSTY WINDS CONTINUE ACROSS PORTIONS OF THE SOUTHEAST U.S... As of 10:00 PM CDT Sat Jun 19 the center of Claudette was located near 32.6, -87.0 with movement NE at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Jun 2021 - 0:00 UTC ...CENTER OF CLAUDETTE NOW MOVING INTO WESTERN ALABAMA... ...HEAVY RAINS AND GUSTY WINDS CONTINUE ACROSS PORTIONS OF THE SOUTHEAST U.S... As of 7:00 PM CDT Sat Jun 19 the center of Claudette was located near 32.4, -87.7 with movement NE at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

19 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINS AND GUSTY WINDS CONTINUE ACROSS PORTIONS OF THE SOUTHEAST U.S... As of 4:00 PM CDT Sat Jun 19 the center of Claudette was located near 32.2, -87.9 with movement NE at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

19 Jun 2021 - 18:00 UTC ...BANDS OF HEAVY RAIN AND GUSTY WINDS STILL AFFECTING PORTIONS OF THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 1:00 PM CDT Sat Jun 19 the center of Claudette was located near 31.8, -88.6 with movement NNE at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

19 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINS AND TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS CONTINUE ALONG PORTIONS OF THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... ...TROPICAL STORM WATCH HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR A PORTION OF THE NORTH CAROLINA COAST... As of 10:00 AM CDT Sat Jun 19 the center of Claudette was located near 31.0, -89.7 with movement NNE at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

19 Jun 2021 - 12:00 UTC ...CLAUDETTE INLAND OVER SOUTHEASTERN LOUISIANA... ...HEAVY RAINS AND TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS CONTINUE ALONG PORTIONS OF THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 7:00 AM CDT Sat Jun 19 the center of Claudette was located near 30.4, -90.1 with movement NNE at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

19 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM CLAUDETTE FORMS... ...HEAVY RAINFALL CAUSING DANGEROUS FLOODING REMAINS THE PRIMARY HAZARD... As of 4:00 AM CDT Sat Jun 19 the center of Claudette was located near 29.6, -90.7 with movement NNE at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

19 Jun 2021 - 6:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS CONTINUING ACROSS THE NORTHERN GULF COAST REGION... As of 1:00 AM CDT Sat Jun 19 the center of Three was located near 29.1, -91.0 with movement N at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

19 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE HAS NOT YET DEVELOPED INTO A TROPICAL CYCLONE... ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS CONTINUING TO SPREAD ACROSS THE NORTHERN GULF COAST REGION... As of 10:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 18 the center of Three was located near 28.9, -90.9 with movement N at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

19 Jun 2021 - 0:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE APPROACHING THE NORTH-CENTRAL GULF COAST... ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS CONTINUING TO SPREAD ACROSS THE REGION... As of 7:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 18 the center of Three was located near 28.3, -91.1 with movement N at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

18 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS SPREADING ACROSS PORTIONS OF THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 4:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 18 the center of Three was located near 27.9, -91.2 with movement N at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

18 Jun 2021 - 18:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE A LITTLE STRONGER... ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS BEGINNING TO REACH PORTIONS OF THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 1:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 18 the center of Three was located near 27.3, -91.1 with movement NNE at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

18 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS BEGINNING TO REACH PORTIONS OF THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 10:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 18 the center of Three was located near 26.5, -91.1 with movement NNE at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

18 Jun 2021 - 12:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS EXPECTED TO REACH PORTIONS OF THE NORTHERN GULF COAST LATER TODAY... As of 7:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 18 the center of Three was located near 26.0, -91.5 with movement N at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

18 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...POTENTIAL TROPICAL CYCLONE THREE EXPECTED TO BRING HEAVY RAINFALL AND FLOODING TO THE NORTHERN GULF COAST STARTING LATER TODAY... As of 4:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 18 the center of Three was located near 25.2, -91.5 with movement N at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

18 Jun 2021 - 6:00 UTC ...POTENTIAL TROPICAL CYCLONE THREE FORECAST TO BRING HEAVY RAINFALL AND FLOODING TO THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 1:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 18 the center of Three was located near 24.0, -92.0 with movement N at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

18 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...THE POTENTIAL TROPICAL CYCLONE REMAINS POORLY ORGANIZED AS IT MOVES OVER THE SOUTHWESTERN GULF OF MEXICO... ...EXPECTED TO BRING HEAVY RAINFALL AND FLOODING TO THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 10:00 PM CDT Thu Jun 17 the center of Three was located near 23.5, -92.2 with movement N at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

18 Jun 2021 - 0:00 UTC ...POTENTIAL TROPICAL CYCLONE MOVING NORTHWARD OVER THE SOUTHWESTERN GULF OF MEXICO... ...EXPECTED TO BRING HEAVY RAINFALL AND FLOODING TO THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 7:00 PM CDT Thu Jun 17 the center of Three was located near 23.2, -92.3 with movement N at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

17 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...POTENTIAL TROPICAL CYCLONE OVER THE SOUTHWESTERN GULF OF MEXICO... ...EXPECTED TO BRING HEAVY RAINFALL AND FLOODING TO THE NORTHERN GULF COAST... As of 4:00 PM CDT Thu Jun 17 the center of Three was located near 22.9, -92.4 with movement N at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
22 Jun 2021 - 10:56 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
22 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour