NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
1 Dec 2021 - 11:17 EST
1 Dec 2021 - 16:17 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Danny at 33.0°N - 83.0°W

Washington County, GA

« 2021 Storms »

Tracking started: 28 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

29 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...DANNY DISSIPATES INLAND OVER GEORGIA... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 5:00 AM EDT Tue Jun 29 the center of Danny was located near 33.0, -83.0 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1019 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 25 mph.

29 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...DANNY WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... ...HEAVY RAINS CONTINUE OVER PORTIONS OF GEORGIA AND SOUTH CAROLINA... As of 11:00 PM EDT Mon Jun 28 the center of Danny was located near 32.6, -81.5 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1013 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

29 Jun 2021 - 0:00 UTC ...DANNY MAKES LANDFALL JUST NORTH OF HILTON HEAD ON PRITCHARDS ISLAND SOUTH CAROLINA... As of 8:00 PM EDT Mon Jun 28 the center of Danny was located near 32.3, -80.5 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1010 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

28 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM DANNY STRENGTHENS SOME MORE AS IT NEARS THE SOUTH CAROLINA COAST... As of 5:00 PM EDT Mon Jun 28 the center of Danny was located near 32.3, -80.1 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

28 Jun 2021 - 19:05 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRENGTHENS TO A TROPICAL STORM... As of 3:05 PM EDT Mon Jun 28 the center of Danny was located near 32.2, -79.7 with movement NW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1014 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

28 Jun 2021 - 18:00 UTC ...RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT INVESTIGATING TROPICAL DEPRESSION LOCATED JUST OFFSHORE THE COAST OF SOUTH CAROLINA... As of 2:00 PM EDT Mon Jun 28 the center of Four was located near 32.2, -79.3 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1013 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

28 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS OFF THE COAST OF SOUTH CAROLINA... ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING ISSUED FOR PORTIONS OF THE SOUTH CAROLINA COAST... As of 11:00 AM EDT Mon Jun 28 the center of Four was located near 31.9, -78.3 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1013 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
29 Jun 2021 - 16:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
29 Jun 2021 - 16:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
29 Jun 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour