NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
23 Oct 2019 - 17:09 EDT
23 Oct 2019 - 21:09 UTC

Remnants of Fernand at 25.0°N - 99.0°W

Mexico


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

5 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...FERNAND HAS DISSIPATED OVER THE RUGGED TERRAIN OF MEXICO... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 10:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Fernand was located near 25.0, -99.0 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...FERNAND PRODUCING HEAVY RAINS OVER PORTIONS OF NORTHEASTERN MEXICO... ...THREAT OF FLASH FLOODING AND MUDSLIDES WILL CONTINUE OVERNIGHT... As of 4:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Fernand was located near 24.4, -98.3 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 18:00 UTC ...FERNAND MOVING INLAND OVER NORTHEASTERN MEXICO... ...LIFE-THREATENING FLASH FLOODING POSSIBLE OVER PORTIONS OF NORTHEASTERN MEXICO... As of 1:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Fernand was located near 24.3, -97.9 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 16:35 UTC ...FERNAND MAKES LANDFALL ALONG THE COAST OF NORTHEASTERN MEXICO... As of 11:35 AM CDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Fernand was located near 24.3, -97.7 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS CONTINUE SPREADING INLAND OVER NORTHEASTERN MEXICO AND DEEP SOUTH TEXAS... ...LIFE-THREATENING FLASH FLOODING POSSIBLE OVER PORTIONS OF NORTHEASTERN MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Fernand was located near 24.2, -97.3 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 12:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS SPREADING OVER NORTHEASTERN MEXICO AND THE RIO GRANDE VALLEY... As of 7:00 AM CDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Fernand was located near 23.5, -97.2 with movement W at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...FERNAND MOVING SLOWLY WESTWARD TOWARD NORTHEASTERN MEXICO... ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS LIKELY OCCURRING IN THE WARNING AREA... As of 4:00 AM CDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Fernand was located near 23.1, -96.8 with movement W at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 6:00 UTC ...FERNAND EXPECTED TO BRING TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS TO THE COAST OF NORTHEASTERN MEXICO LATER THIS MORNING... As of 1:00 AM CDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Fernand was located near 23.0, -96.7 with movement W at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...CENTER OF TROPICAL STORM FERNAND EXPECTED TO REACH THE COAST OF MEXICO LATE WEDNESDAY... ...NOAA HURRICANE HUNTER PLANE MEASURED TROPICAL STORM FORCE WINDS ALREADY NEAR THE COAST WITHIN THE WARNING AREA... As of 10:00 PM CDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Fernand was located near 23.2, -96.4 with movement W at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 0:00 UTC ...NOAA HURRICANE HUNTER PLANE FINDS FERNAND A LITTLE STRONGER... ...FERNAND EXPECTED TO REACH THE COAST OF MEXICO WEDNESDAY NIGHT OR EARLY THURSDAY... As of 7:00 PM CDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Fernand was located near 23.2, -96.3 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

3 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...FERNAND MOVING WESTWARD TOWARD THE COAST OF MEXICO... ...GOVERNMENT OF MEXICO EXTENDS WARNING SOUTHWARD... As of 4:00 PM CDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Fernand was located near 23.4, -95.9 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Sep 2019 - 18:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRENGTHENS INTO TROPICAL STORM FERNAND... As of 1:00 PM CDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Fernand was located near 23.5, -95.3 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE BECOMES A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... ...EXPECTED TO STRENGTHEN TO A TROPICAL STORM BY WEDNESDAY... As of 10:00 AM CDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Seven was located near 23.6, -94.9 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Sep 2019 - 12:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE MOVING WESTWARD... ...TROPICAL CYCLONE EXPECTED TO FORM LATER TODAY OVER THE SOUTHWESTERN GULF OF MEXICO... As of 7:00 AM CDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Seven was located near 23.5, -94.6 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

Images updated every 10 minutes.

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Nighttime Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
5 Sep 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour