NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
22 Jul 2024 - 15:26 EDT
22 Jul 2024 - 19:26 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Kyle at 40.0°N - 58.9°W

North Atlantic Ocean

Last observation: 16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

« 2020 Storms »

14 Aug 2020 - 16 Aug 2020

Approximately 1000 miles from the U.S. east coast


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

16 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...KYLE BECOMES EXTRATROPICAL OVER THE NORTH ATLANTIC... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 5:00 AM AST Sun Aug 16 the center of Kyle was located near 40.0, -58.9 with movement E at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

16 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KYLE EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL SUNDAY MORNING... As of 11:00 PM AST Sat Aug 15 the center of Kyle was located near 40.0, -60.4 with movement ENE at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

15 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...KYLE EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL SOON... As of 5:00 PM AST Sat Aug 15 the center of Kyle was located near 39.4, -63.2 with movement ENE at 22 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

15 Aug 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM KYLE HEADING OUT TO SEA... As of 11:00 AM AST Sat Aug 15 the center of Kyle was located near 39.0, -65.6 with movement ENE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

15 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM KYLE HEADING TOWARD THE OPEN WATERS OF THE NORTHERN ATLANTIC... As of 5:00 AM AST Sat Aug 15 the center of Kyle was located near 38.7, -68.0 with movement ENE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

15 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM KYLE MOVING AWAY FROM THE U.S. MID-ATLANTIC COAST... As of 11:00 PM EDT Fri Aug 14 the center of Kyle was located near 38.3, -70.0 with movement ENE at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM KYLE FORMS OVER THE NORTHWEST ATLANTIC... ...FORECAST TO MOVE QUICKLY AWAY FROM LAND DURING THE NEXT FEW DAYS... As of 5:00 PM EDT Fri Aug 14 the center of Kyle was located near 37.7, -71.7 with movement ENE at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Kyle at 40.0°N - 58.9°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Air Mass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour