NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
27 Nov 2021 - 11:44 EST
27 Nov 2021 - 16:44 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Mindy at 32.5°N - 75.0°W

North Atlantic Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

8 Sep 2021 - 10 Sep 2021


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

10 Sep 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...MINDY BECOMES POST-TROPICAL AS IT ACCELERATES AWAY FROM THE SOUTHEASTERN UNITED STATES... ...THIS IS THE FINAL ADVISORY... As of 11:00 PM EDT Thu Sep 9 the center of Mindy was located near 32.5, -75.0 with movement ENE at 29 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

9 Sep 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...MINDY HANGING ON AS A TROPICAL DEPRESSION AS IT MOVES AWAY FROM THE SOUTHEAST COAST OF THE UNITED STATES... As of 5:00 PM EDT Thu Sep 9 the center of Mindy was located near 32.0, -78.3 with movement ENE at 23 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

9 Sep 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...CENTER OF MINDY MOVES OFFSHORE THE GEORGIA COAST... ...HEAVY RAINFALL WILL CONTINUE ACROSS COASTAL SOUTH CAROLINA FOR THE NEXT FEW HOURS... As of 11:00 AM EDT Thu Sep 9 the center of Mindy was located near 31.5, -80.7 with movement ENE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

9 Sep 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL FROM MINDY SPREADING INLAND OVER SOUTHEASTERN GEORGIA AND COASTAL SOUTH CAROLINA... As of 5:00 AM EDT Thu Sep 9 the center of Mindy was located near 30.8, -83.0 with movement NE at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

9 Sep 2021 - 6:00 UTC ...CENTER OF MINDY MOVING OVER NORTHERN FLORIDA... As of 2:00 AM EDT Thu Sep 9 the center of Mindy was located near 30.5, -84.0 with movement NE at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

9 Sep 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...CENTER OF MINDY MOVING ALONG THE COAST OF APALACHEE BAY... As of 11:00 PM EDT Wed Sep 8 the center of Mindy was located near 29.9, -84.5 with movement NE at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

9 Sep 2021 - 1:15 UTC ...CENTER OF MINDY MAKES LANDFALL AT ST. VINCENT ISLAND FLORIDA... As of 8:15 PM CDT Wed Sep 8 the center of Mindy was located near 29.7, -85.2 with movement NE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

9 Sep 2021 - 0:00 UTC ...CENTER OF MINDY ABOUT TO MAKE LANDFALL IN THE FLORIDA PANHANDLE... As of 7:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 8 the center of Mindy was located near 29.6, -85.4 with movement NE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

8 Sep 2021 - 22:00 UTC ...NOAA BUOY DATA INDICATES THAT MINDY IS A LITTLE STRONGER... As of 5:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 8 the center of Mindy was located near 29.2, -86.1 with movement NE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

8 Sep 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL STORM FORMS IN THE NORTHEAST GULF OF MEXICO... ...TROPICAL STORM WARNINGS ISSUED FOR THE FLORIDA PANHANDLE... As of 4:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 8 the center of Mindy was located near 29.0, -86.3 with movement NE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
10 Sep 2021 - 10:46 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
10 Sep 2021 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
10 Sep 2021 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
10 Sep 2021 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
10 Sep 2021 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
10 Sep 2021 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
10 Sep 2021 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour