NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
16 Oct 2019 - 20:50 EDT
17 Oct 2019 - 00:50 UTC

Post-Tropical Cyclone Cosme at 20.5°N - 120.7°W

North Pacific Ocean


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

8 Jul 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...COSME DEGENERATES INTO A POST-TROPICAL REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Mon Jul 8 the center of Cosme was located near 20.5, -120.7 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

8 Jul 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...COSME EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW TODAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Mon Jul 8 the center of Cosme was located near 19.8, -120.1 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

8 Jul 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...COSME WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW SOON... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sun Jul 7 the center of Cosme was located near 19.1, -119.5 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

7 Jul 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...COSME FORECAST TO BECOME A DEPRESSION LATER TONIGHT... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sun Jul 7 the center of Cosme was located near 18.6, -119.0 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Jul 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...COSME EXPECTED TO WEAKEN TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION BY TONIGHT... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sun Jul 7 the center of Cosme was located near 17.7, -118.4 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Jul 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...COSME WEAKENING...EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL DEPRESSION LATER TODAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sun Jul 7 the center of Cosme was located near 16.9, -118.0 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Jul 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...COSME MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD WITH NO CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sat Jul 6 the center of Cosme was located near 16.7, -117.1 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

6 Jul 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...COSME MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD WELL SOUTHWEST OF MEXICO... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sat Jul 6 the center of Cosme was located near 16.2, -116.3 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

6 Jul 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...COSME FORMS WELL OFFSHORE OF SOUTHWEST MEXICO... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sat Jul 6 the center of Cosme was located near 15.6, -115.7 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

Images updated every 10 minutes.

Error - GeoColor

No images available for this view & channel. Please contact the system admin for assistance.

Error - Day Convection

No images available for this view & channel. Please contact the system admin for assistance.

Error - Nighttime Microphysics

No images available for this view & channel. Please contact the system admin for assistance.

Error - Day Land Cloud

No images available for this view & channel. Please contact the system admin for assistance.

Error - AirMass RGB

No images available for this view & channel. Please contact the system admin for assistance.

Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
8 Jul 2019 - 23:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
8 Jul 2019 - 23:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
8 Jul 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
9 Jul 2019 - 00:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
8 Jul 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
9 Jul 2019 - 00:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
8 Jul 2019 - 23:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
9 Jul 2019 - 00:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour