NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
4 Dec 2021 - 21:11 EST
5 Dec 2021 - 02:11 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Carlos at 8.6°N - 135.3°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

12 Jun 2021 - 16 Jun 2021


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

16 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...CARLOS BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Wed Jun 16 the center of Carlos was located near 8.6, -135.3 with movement WSW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

16 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...CARLOS BARELY HANGING ON AS A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 11:00 PM HST Tue Jun 15 the center of Carlos was located near 9.2, -135.0 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

16 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...CARLOS STILL BARELY A TROPICAL CYCLONE... As of 5:00 PM HST Tue Jun 15 the center of Carlos was located near 9.6, -134.2 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

15 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...CARLOS BARELY HANGING ON AS A TROPICAL CYCLONE... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Jun 15 the center of Carlos was located near 9.8, -133.5 with movement WSW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

15 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...CARLOS TRYING TO HANG ON AS A TROPICAL CYCLONE... As of 8:00 AM PDT Tue Jun 15 the center of Carlos was located near 10.0, -132.6 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

15 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...CARLOS COULD BECOME A REMNANT LOW AS SOON AS LATER TODAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Tue Jun 15 the center of Carlos was located near 10.1, -131.8 with movement WSW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

15 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...CARLOS BARELY HOLDS ON AS A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 8:00 PM PDT Mon Jun 14 the center of Carlos was located near 10.5, -130.8 with movement WSW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

14 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...CARLOS WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 2:00 PM PDT Mon Jun 14 the center of Carlos was located near 10.9, -130.0 with movement WSW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

14 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...CARLOS STILL EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL DEPRESSION LATER TODAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Mon Jun 14 the center of Carlos was located near 11.3, -128.6 with movement WSW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

14 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...CARLOS CONTINUES TO WEAKEN... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL DEPRESSION LATER TODAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Mon Jun 14 the center of Carlos was located near 11.4, -127.8 with movement WSW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

14 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...CARLOS WEAKENS SLIGHTLY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sun Jun 13 the center of Carlos was located near 11.6, -127.1 with movement WSW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

13 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...CARLOS SLOWLY MARCHING WESTWARD OVER OPEN WATERS... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sun Jun 13 the center of Carlos was located near 11.7, -126.6 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

13 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...CARLOS STRENGTHENS A LITTLE MORE... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sun Jun 13 the center of Carlos was located near 11.8, -126.0 with movement WSW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

13 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...CARLOS STRENGTHENS SLIGHTLY OVER THE OPEN EASTERN NORTH PACIFIC OCEAN... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sun Jun 13 the center of Carlos was located near 11.9, -125.3 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

13 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION INTENSIFIES INTO TROPICAL STORM CARLOS... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sat Jun 12 the center of Carlos was located near 11.9, -124.5 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

12 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS OVER THE OPEN WATERS OF THE EAST PACIFIC... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL STORM SOON... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sat Jun 12 the center of Three-E was located near 11.8, -123.6 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
16 Jun 2021 - 22:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour