NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
18 Aug 2022 - 01:00 EDT
18 Aug 2022 - 05:00 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Bonnie at 19.5°N - 129.4°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2022 Storms »

2 Jul 2022 - 9 Jul 2022


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

9 Jul 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...BONNIE'S LONG VOYAGE FROM THE CARIBBEAN SEA ENDS AS IT BECOMES POST-TROPICAL... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sat Jul 9 the center of Bonnie was located near 19.5, -129.4 with movement W at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

9 Jul 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...BONNIE LIKELY TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL LATER TODAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sat Jul 9 the center of Bonnie was located near 19.5, -127.7 with movement W at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

9 Jul 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...BONNIE WEAKENS FURTHER... ...FORECAST TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL LATER TODAY OR TONIGHT... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sat Jul 9 the center of Bonnie was located near 19.3, -125.5 with movement W at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

9 Jul 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...BONNIE CONTINUES TO WEAKEN... ...FORECAST TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL ON SATURDAY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Fri Jul 8 the center of Bonnie was located near 19.1, -123.7 with movement WNW at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

8 Jul 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...BONNIE WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL STORM... ...FORECAST TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL ON SATURDAY AND THEN DISSIPATE BY MONDAY... As of 2:00 PM PDT Fri Jul 8 the center of Bonnie was located near 18.6, -121.8 with movement W at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

8 Jul 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...BONNIE LIKELY TO BECOME A POST-TROPICAL CYCLONE ON SATURDAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Fri Jul 8 the center of Bonnie was located near 18.3, -120.4 with movement W at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

8 Jul 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...BONNIE WEAKENING AND EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL ON SATURDAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Fri Jul 8 the center of Bonnie was located near 18.2, -118.5 with movement WNW at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 982 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

8 Jul 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...BONNIE EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL ON SATURDAY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Thu Jul 7 the center of Bonnie was located near 18.1, -116.9 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

7 Jul 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...BONNIE PASSING TO THE SOUTH OF CLARION ISLAND... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL ON SATURDAY... As of 2:00 PM PDT Thu Jul 7 the center of Bonnie was located near 17.7, -115.3 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

7 Jul 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...BONNIE HEADING TOWARD COOLER WATERS... ...WEAKENING EXPECTED OVER THE NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS... As of 9:00 AM MDT Thu Jul 7 the center of Bonnie was located near 17.3, -113.7 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

7 Jul 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...BONNIE WEAKENS A LITTLE MORE... As of 3:00 AM MDT Thu Jul 7 the center of Bonnie was located near 17.1, -112.5 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

7 Jul 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...BONNIE SLIGHTLY WEAKER... As of 9:00 PM MDT Wed Jul 6 the center of Bonnie was located near 16.9, -111.3 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 977 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

6 Jul 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...BONNIE MAINTAINING ITS INTENSITY AS IT MOVES WEST-NORTHWESTWARD... As of 3:00 PM MDT Wed Jul 6 the center of Bonnie was located near 16.5, -110.1 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 972 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

6 Jul 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...RESILIENT BONNIE RESTRENGTHENS... As of 9:00 AM MDT Wed Jul 6 the center of Bonnie was located near 16.1, -109.0 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 970 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

6 Jul 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...BONNIE WEAKENS WHILE MOVING WESTWARD INTO THE OPEN EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 3:00 AM MDT Wed Jul 6 the center of Bonnie was located near 15.9, -108.3 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 971 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

6 Jul 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...BONNIE SENDS ROUGH SURF TO PORTIONS OF THE COAST OF SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 9:00 PM MDT Tue Jul 5 the center of Bonnie was located near 15.7, -107.1 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 968 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 110 mph.

5 Jul 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...LARGE SWELLS FROM BONNIE AFFECTING PORTIONS OF THE COAST OF SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Tue Jul 5 the center of Bonnie was located near 15.5, -105.7 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 964 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

5 Jul 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...BONNIE BECOMES A MAJOR HURRICANE... ...FIRST OF THE EASTERN NORTH PACIFIC SEASON... As of 10:00 AM CDT Tue Jul 5 the center of Bonnie was located near 15.3, -104.3 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 964 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

5 Jul 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...BONNIE CHANGES LITTLE IN STRENGTH OVER THE LAST SEVERAL HOURS... As of 4:00 AM CDT Tue Jul 5 the center of Bonnie was located near 15.1, -103.2 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 972 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

5 Jul 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...BONNIE STRENGTHENS FURTHER... As of 10:00 PM CDT Mon Jul 4 the center of Bonnie was located near 14.5, -101.4 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 974 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

4 Jul 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...BONNIE CONTINUES TO STRENGTHEN... ...BRINGING ROUGH SURF AND THREAT OF RIP CURRENTS TO PORTIONS OF THE COAST OF SOUTHERN AND SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Mon Jul 4 the center of Bonnie was located near 13.9, -100.3 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 978 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

4 Jul 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...BONNIE STRENGTHENING... ...BRINGING ROUGH SURF AND THREAT OF RIP CURRENTS TO PORTIONS OF THE COAST OF SOUTHERN MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Mon Jul 4 the center of Bonnie was located near 13.7, -99.0 with movement WNW at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 982 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

4 Jul 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...BONNIE EXPECTED TO BRING ROUGH SURF TO PORTIONS OF THE COAST OF SOUTHERN MEXICO... As of 4:00 AM CDT Mon Jul 4 the center of Bonnie was located near 13.6, -97.3 with movement WNW at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

4 Jul 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...BONNIE BECOMES THE THIRD HURRICANE OF THE 2022 EASTERN NORTH PACIFIC SEASON... As of 10:00 PM CDT Sun Jul 3 the center of Bonnie was located near 13.2, -95.5 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

3 Jul 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...BONNIE CONTINUES TO STRENGTHEN... ...ROUGH SURF AFFECTING PORTIONS OF THE COASTS OF GUATEMALA AND SOUTHERN MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Sun Jul 3 the center of Bonnie was located near 12.3, -94.1 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

3 Jul 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...BONNIE GRADUALLY STRENGTHENING... ...AREAS OF HEAVY RAIN AND ROUGH SURF AFFECTING PORTIONS OF THE GUATEMALA AND THE SOUTHERN MEXICO COAST...
Location: 11.9°N 92.4°W
Max sustained: 65 mph
Moving: W at 16 mph
Min pressure: 995 mb

Issued at 1000 AM CDT Sun Jul 03 2022

3 Jul 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...BONNIE EXPECTED TO STRENGTHEN... ...HEAVY RAINS ARE POSSIBLE ACROSS PARTS OF EL SALVADOR, GUATEMALA, AND SOUTHERN MEXICO DURING THE NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS... As of 4:00 AM CDT Sun Jul 3 the center of Bonnie was located near 11.6, -90.6 with movement W at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 997 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

3 Jul 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...BONNIE STRENGTHENS SOME MORE... ...HEAVY RAINFALLS ARE EXPECTED ACROSS PARTS OF NICARAGUA, COSTA RICA AND THE SOUTHERN PORTION OF EL SALVADOR THROUGH THE NIGHT... As of 10:00 PM CDT Sat Jul 2 the center of Bonnie was located near 11.3, -89.5 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 997 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Jul 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...BONNIE INTENSIFYING AS IT MOVES AWAY FROM THE NICARAGUA COAST... ...WINDS AND RAIN ARE EXPECTED TO DIMINISH THROUGHOUT THE NIGHT... As of 4:00 PM CDT Sat Jul 2 the center of Bonnie was located near 11.3, -88.0 with movement W at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

2 Jul 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...BONNIE BECOMING BETTER ORGANIZED... ...TROPICAL STORM FORCE WINDS AND HEAVY RAINS CONTINUE IN BOTH NICARAGUA AND NORTHWESTERN COSTA RICA... As of 1:00 PM CDT Sat Jul 2 the center of Bonnie was located near 11.2, -87.5 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

2 Jul 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...BONNIE MOVES OFFSHORE OF NICARAGUA... ...TROPICAL STORM FORCE WINDS AND HEAVY RAINS CONTINUE IN BOTH NICARAGUA AND NORTHWESTERN COSTA RICA... As of 10:00 AM CDT Sat Jul 2 the center of Bonnie was located near 11.2, -86.4 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
10 Jul 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
10 Jul 2022 - 04:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
10 Jul 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
10 Jul 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
10 Jul 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
10 Jul 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
10 Jul 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
10 Jul 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
10 Jul 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour