NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
23 Oct 2019 - 17:01 EDT
23 Oct 2019 - 21:01 UTC

Post-Tropical Cyclone Gil at 15.1°N - 127.3°W

North Pacific Ocean


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

5 Aug 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...GIL DEGENERATES INTO A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sun Aug 4 the center of Gil was located near 15.1, -127.3 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

4 Aug 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...GIL EXPECTED TO DEGENERATE INTO A REMNANT LOW LATER THIS AFTERNOON OR TONIGHT... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sun Aug 4 the center of Gil was located near 15.0, -126.3 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

4 Aug 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...GIL EXPECTED TO WEAKEN TO A REMNANT LOW LATER TODAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sun Aug 4 the center of Gil was located near 14.9, -125.3 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

4 Aug 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...GIL WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sun Aug 4 the center of Gil was located near 14.9, -124.4 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

4 Aug 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...GIL MOVING WESTWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sat Aug 3 the center of Gil was located near 14.9, -123.6 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Aug 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...GIL FORMS OVER THE EASTERN NORTH PACIFIC... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sat Aug 3 the center of Gil was located near 15.0, -122.4 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

Images updated every 10 minutes.

Error - GeoColor

No images available for this view & channel. Please contact the system admin for assistance.

Error - Day Convection

No images available for this view & channel. Please contact the system admin for assistance.

Error - Nighttime Microphysics

No images available for this view & channel. Please contact the system admin for assistance.

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
5 Aug 2019 - 11:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour