NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
1 Dec 2021 - 08:14 EST
1 Dec 2021 - 13:14 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Fausto at 23.4°N - 125.9°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2020 Storms »

16 Aug 2020 - 17 Aug 2020


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

17 Aug 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...FAUSTO BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Mon Aug 17 the center of Fausto was located near 23.4, -125.9 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

17 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...FAUSTO EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW LATER TODAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Mon Aug 17 the center of Fausto was located near 23.1, -124.2 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

17 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...FAUSTO BECOMES A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sun Aug 16 the center of Fausto was located near 23.1, -122.9 with movement NW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

16 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...FAUSTO EXPECTED TO BEGIN WEAKENING SOON... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sun Aug 16 the center of Fausto was located near 21.5, -121.0 with movement NW at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

16 Aug 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION BECOMES TROPICAL STORM FAUSTO... ...NOT EXPECTED TO STRENGTHEN ANY FURTHER... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sun Aug 16 the center of Fausto was located near 20.7, -119.6 with movement NW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

16 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION CLOSE TO STORM STRENGTH... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sun Aug 16 the center of Eleven-E was located near 19.5, -119.0 with movement NNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

16 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS WELL OFF THE BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... ...EXPECTED TO BE SHORT LIVED... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sat Aug 15 the center of Eleven-E was located near 18.4, -118.6 with movement NNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
18 Aug 2020 - 02:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
18 Aug 2020 - 02:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
18 Aug 2020 - 02:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
18 Aug 2020 - 02:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
18 Aug 2020 - 02:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
18 Aug 2020 - 02:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
18 Aug 2020 - 02:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour