NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
27 Nov 2021 - 12:24 EST
27 Nov 2021 - 17:24 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Marty at 20.5°N - 119.2°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

23 Aug 2021 - 24 Aug 2021


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

24 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...MARTY DEGENERATES INTO A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 24 the center of Marty was located near 20.5, -119.2 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

24 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...MARTY WEAKENS SOME MORE AS IT MOVES WESTWARD... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW LATER TODAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Tue Aug 24 the center of Marty was located near 20.6, -118.1 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

24 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...MARTY WEAKENING AS IT MOVES WESTWARD... As of 2:00 AM PDT Tue Aug 24 the center of Marty was located near 20.6, -117.0 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

24 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...MARTY MOVING WESTWARD AWAY FROM MEXICO... ...EXPECTED TO BEGIN WEAKENING ON TUESDAY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Mon Aug 23 the center of Marty was located near 20.7, -115.8 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

23 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...MARTY STRENGTHENS A LITTLE WHILE PASSING TO THE NORTH OF CLARION ISLAND... ...EXPECTED TO REMAIN OVER THE OPEN WATERS OF THE EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 3:00 PM MDT Mon Aug 23 the center of Marty was located near 20.9, -114.1 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

23 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...MARTY PASSING TO THE NORTH OF SOCORRO ISLAND... ...EXPECTED TO REMAIN OVER THE OPEN WATERS OF THE EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 9:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 23 the center of Marty was located near 20.5, -112.4 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

23 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM MARTY FORMS SOUTH-SOUTHWEST OF THE SOUTHERN TIP OF THE BAJA PENINSULA... ...FORECAST TO MOVE OVER THE OPEN WATERS OF THE EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 23 the center of Marty was located near 20.0, -111.0 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
25 Aug 2021 - 04:56 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
25 Aug 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour