NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
28 Sep 2020 - 18:27 EDT
28 Sep 2020 - 22:27 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Karina at 23.3°N - 125.0°W

North Pacific Ocean


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

17 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KARINA BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST NHC ADVISORY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Wed Sep 16 the center of Karina was located near 23.3, -125.0 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

16 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...KARINA WEAKENS TO A DEPRESSION AND WILL SOON BECOME A REMNANT LOW... As of 2:00 PM PDT Wed Sep 16 the center of Karina was located near 23.0, -124.6 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

16 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...KARINA EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW TONIGHT... As of 8:00 AM PDT Wed Sep 16 the center of Karina was located near 22.6, -123.9 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

16 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...KARINA WEAKENING... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW IN A DAY OR SO... As of 2:00 AM PDT Wed Sep 16 the center of Karina was located near 21.7, -123.7 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

16 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KARINA HANGING ON BUT WILL SOON WEAKEN... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Sep 15 the center of Karina was located near 21.3, -123.0 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...COOLER WATERS WILL SOON WEAKEN KARINA... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Sep 15 the center of Karina was located near 20.7, -122.1 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...KARINA FORECAST TO BEGIN WEAKENING SOON... As of 8:00 AM PDT Tue Sep 15 the center of Karina was located near 20.4, -121.1 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...KARINA STRENGTHENS A LITTLE MORE... As of 2:00 AM PDT Tue Sep 15 the center of Karina was located near 19.8, -120.6 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KARINA A LITTLE STRONGER THIS EVENING... As of 8:00 PM PDT Mon Sep 14 the center of Karina was located near 19.1, -119.8 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

14 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...KARINA AT PEAK INTENSITY OVER THE OPEN EAST PACIFIC WATERS... As of 2:00 PM PDT Mon Sep 14 the center of Karina was located near 18.5, -118.8 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...KARINA RESUMES ITS NORTHWEST MOTION OVER THE OPEN EAST PACIFIC WATERS... As of 8:00 AM PDT Mon Sep 14 the center of Karina was located near 18.1, -118.5 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...KARINA JOGS WESTWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 2:00 AM PDT Mon Sep 14 the center of Karina was located near 17.9, -118.2 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KARINA MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sun Sep 13 the center of Karina was located near 18.2, -117.1 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

13 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...KARINA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN A LITTLE OVER THE NEXT DAY OR TWO... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sun Sep 13 the center of Karina was located near 17.8, -116.0 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

13 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...KARINA A LITTLE STRONGER... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 13 the center of Karina was located near 17.6, -114.7 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

13 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC No description available

13 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...NEW DEPRESSION FORMS... ...FORECAST TO MOVE WELL AWAY FROM MEXICO... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sat Sep 12 the center of Sixteen-E was located near 16.7, -112.9 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

Images updated every 10 minutes.

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
17 Sep 2020 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Nighttime Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Images updated every 10 minutes.

Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour