NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
27 Nov 2022 - 10:41 EST
27 Nov 2022 - 15:41 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Orlene at 24.0°N - 105.0°W

Last observation: 04 Oct 2022 - 10:41 UTC

Mexico

« 2022 Storms »

29 Sep 2022 - 4 Oct 2022


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

4 Oct 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...ORLENE DISSIPATES, BUT THE HEAVY RAINFALL THREAT CONTINUES OVERNIGHT... As of 10:00 PM CDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Orlene was located near 24.0, -105.0 with movement NE at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 25 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL CONTINUES SPREADING INLAND OVER PORTIONS OF WEST-CENTRAL MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Orlene was located near 23.6, -105.4 with movement NNE at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL SPREADING OVER INLAND PORTIONS OF WEST-CENTRAL MEXICO... As of 1:00 PM CDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Orlene was located near 23.3, -105.5 with movement NNE at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 13:45 UTC ...ORLENE MAKES LANDFALL IN SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 7:45 AM MDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Orlene was located near 22.7, -105.9 with movement NNE at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...CENTER OF ORLENE MOVING INLAND OVER SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... ...STRONG WINDS AND HEAVY RAINFALL SPREADING INLAND... As of 10:00 AM CDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Orlene was located near 22.9, -105.7 with movement NNE at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 983 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 13:45 UTC ...ORLENE MAKES LANDFALL IN SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 7:45 AM MDT Mon Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 22.7, -105.9 with movement NNE at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...CENTER OF ORLENE NEARING THE COAST OF SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... ...STRONG WINDS, HEAVY RAINFALL, AND A DANGEROUS STORM SURGE SPREADING ONSHORE... As of 6:00 AM MDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Orlene was located near 22.6, -106.1 with movement N at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 976 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...ORLENE EXPECTED TO BRING STRONG WINDS AND A DANGEROUS STORM SURGE TO PORTIONS OF WESTERN MAINLAND MEXICO LATER TODAY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Orlene was located near 22.1, -106.4 with movement N at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 976 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...ORLENE CAUSING HURRICANE CONDITIONS IN LAS ISLAS MARIAS ISLANDS... ...EXPECTED TO BRING STRONG WINDS AND A DANGEROUS STORM SURGE TO PORTIONS OF WESTERN MAINLAND MEXICO... As of 12:00 AM MDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Orlene was located near 21.7, -106.5 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 976 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...ORLENE NEARLY OVER ISLAS MARIAS... ...SIGNIFICANT WINDS AND DANGEROUS STORM SURGE LIKELY ONGOING... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sun Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 21.4, -106.5 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 976 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...ORLENE NEARING ISLAS MARIAS... ...SIGNIFICANT WINDS AND DANGEROUS STORM SURGE LIKELY TO BEGIN SHORTLY... As of 6:00 PM MDT Sun Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 20.9, -106.8 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 972 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...ORLENE EXPECTED TO BRING SIGNIFICANT WINDS, STORM SURGE, AND HEAVY RAINFALL TO THE ISLAS MARIAS AND PORTIONS OF SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sun Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 20.4, -106.9 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 972 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...AIR FORCE HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT INVESTIGATING ORLENE... ...OUTER RAIN BANDS SPREADING OVER THE ISLAS MARIAS... As of 12:00 PM MDT Sun Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 19.9, -106.9 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 972 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...ORLENE CONTINUES NORTHWARD... ...SIGNIFICANT WIND, STORM SURGE, AND RAINFALL IMPACTS EXPECTED IN THE ISLAS MARIAS AND PORTIONS OF SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sun Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 19.6, -106.9 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 953 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 125 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...EXTREMELY DANGEROUS CATEGORY 4 HURRICANE ORLENE CONTINUES NORTHWARD... ....SIGNIFICANT WIND, STORM SURGE, AND RAINFALL IMPACTS EXPECTED IN THE ISLAS MARIAS AND PORTIONS OF SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 6:00 AM MDT Sun Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 19.3, -106.8 with movement N at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 949 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 130 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...ORLENE RAPIDLY STRENGTHENS INTO A CATEGORY 4 HURRICANE... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sun Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 19.0, -106.8 with movement N at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 949 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 130 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...ORLENE BECOMES A MAJOR HURRICANE... As of 12:00 AM MDT Sun Oct 2 the center of Orlene was located near 18.6, -106.8 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 962 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...SATELLITE DATA INDICATE ORLENE STILL STRENGTHENING... ...HURRICANE WARNING ISSUED FOR THE COAST OF MAINLAND MEXICO... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sat Oct 1 the center of Orlene was located near 18.4, -106.9 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 966 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 110 mph.

2 Oct 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...ORLENE IS RAPIDLY STRENGTHENING... As of 6:00 PM MDT Sat Oct 1 the center of Orlene was located near 18.2, -107.1 with movement N at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 970 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

1 Oct 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT REPORTS THAT ORLENE IS STRENGTHENING... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sat Oct 1 the center of Orlene was located near 17.9, -107.1 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 979 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

1 Oct 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...ORLENE MOVING SLOWLY NORTHWARD TOWARD LAS ISLAS MARIAS... As of 12:00 PM MDT Sat Oct 1 the center of Orlene was located near 17.8, -107.0 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 989 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

1 Oct 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...ORLENE BECOMES A HURRICANE... ...HURRICANE WARNINGS ISSUED FOR LAS ISLAS MARIAS... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sat Oct 1 the center of Orlene was located near 17.6, -107.0 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 989 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

1 Oct 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...ORLENE MOVING SLOWLY NORTHWARD... ...EXPECTED TO PASS JUST WEST OF JALISCO, MEXICO LATER THIS WEEKEND... As of 6:00 AM MDT Sat Oct 1 the center of Orlene was located near 17.4, -107.0 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

1 Oct 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...ORLENE INCHING ITS WAY NORTHWARD... ...EXPECTED TO PASS JUST WEST OF JALISCO, MEXICO LATER THIS WEEKEND... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sat Oct 1 the center of Orlene was located near 17.2, -107.0 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

1 Oct 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...ORLENE CONTINUES TO MOVE NORTHWARD... ...EXPECTED TO PASS JUST WEST OF JALISCO, MEXICO LATER THIS WEEKEND... As of 12:00 AM MDT Sat Oct 1 the center of Orlene was located near 17.1, -107.2 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

1 Oct 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...ORLENE MOVING NORTHWARD... ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING IN EFFECT FOR A PORTION OF MAINLAND MEXICO... As of 9:00 PM MDT Fri Sep 30 the center of Orlene was located near 17.0, -107.2 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

1 Oct 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...TINY ORLENE HEADING NORTH-NORTHWESTWARD... ...WATCHES IN EFFECT FOR LAS ISLAS MARIAS AND A PORTION OF MAINLAND MEXICO... As of 6:00 PM MDT Fri Sep 30 the center of Orlene was located near 16.8, -107.2 with movement NNW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

30 Sep 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...ORLENE NOW MOVING NORTH-NORTHWESTWARD... ...WATCHES ISSUED FOR LAS ISLAS MARIAS AND A PORTION OF MAINLAND MEXICO... As of 3:00 PM MDT Fri Sep 30 the center of Orlene was located near 16.6, -107.1 with movement NNW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

30 Sep 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...ORLENE MOVING NORTHWESTWARD AND EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE ON SATURDAY... As of 9:00 AM MDT Fri Sep 30 the center of Orlene was located near 16.1, -107.1 with movement NW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

30 Sep 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...ORLENE STRENGTHENS AS IT TURNS NORTHWESTWARD... As of 3:00 AM MDT Fri Sep 30 the center of Orlene was located near 15.9, -106.9 with movement NW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

30 Sep 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...ORLENE MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD AND STRENGTHENING... As of 9:00 PM MDT Thu Sep 29 the center of Orlene was located near 15.6, -106.7 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

29 Sep 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...ORLENE MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD PARALLEL TO THE SOUTHWEST COAST OF MEXICO... As of 3:00 PM MDT Thu Sep 29 the center of Orlene was located near 15.4, -106.5 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

29 Sep 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...ORLENE STRENGTHENS AS IT MOVES WEST-NORTHWESTWARD WHILE SOUTHWEST OF THE COAST OF MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 29 the center of Orlene was located near 15.1, -105.9 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

29 Sep 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRENGTHENS TO TROPICAL STORM ORLENE SOUTH OF SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 4:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 29 the center of Orlene was located near 14.8, -104.9 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

29 Sep 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS SOUTH OF SOUTHWESTERN MEXICO... As of 10:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 28 the center of Sixteen-E was located near 14.4, -103.7 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Orlene at 24.0°N - 105.0°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
4 Oct 2022 - 10:46 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
4 Oct 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour