NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
28 Nov 2021 - 00:57 EST
28 Nov 2021 - 05:57 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Ana at 38.3°N - 55.2°W

North Atlantic Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

22 May 2021 - 24 May 2021

Approximately 1200 miles from the U.S. east coast


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

24 May 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...ANA BECOMES A POST-TROPICAL CYCLONE... ...THIS IS THE LAST NHC ADVISORY ON ANA... As of 11:00 PM AST Sun May 23 the center of Ana was located near 38.3, -55.2 with movement NE at 28 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

23 May 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...ANA WEAKENS TO A DEPRESSION AND EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW SOON... As of 5:00 PM AST Sun May 23 the center of Ana was located near 37.5, -57.7 with movement NE at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

23 May 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...ANA BARELY HOLDING ON AS A TROPICAL CYCLONE... As of 11:00 AM AST Sun May 23 the center of Ana was located near 36.6, -59.4 with movement NE at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

23 May 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...ANA TRANSITIONS TO A TROPICAL STORM... As of 5:00 AM AST Sun May 23 the center of Ana was located near 35.7, -60.5 with movement NE at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

23 May 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...ANA A BIT STRONGER AND MOVING FASTER TO THE NORTHEAST... As of 11:00 PM AST Sat May 22 the center of Ana was located near 35.0, -61.4 with movement NE at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

22 May 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...ANA NOW STARTING TO MOVE NORTHEASTWARD... As of 5:00 PM AST Sat May 22 the center of Ana was located near 34.5, -62.4 with movement NE at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

22 May 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...ANA NOW MOVING WESTWARD WHILE NORTHEAST OF BERMUDA... As of 11:00 AM AST Sat May 22 the center of Ana was located near 34.3, -63.0 with movement W at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

22 May 2021 - 12:00 UTC ...ANA MOVING SLOWLY WHILE CENTERED NORTHEAST OF BERMUDA... As of 8:00 AM AST Sat May 22 the center of Ana was located near 34.2, -62.5 with movement WSW at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

22 May 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...SUBTROPICAL STORM ANA FORMS JUST NORTHEAST OF BERMUDA... As of 5:00 AM AST Sat May 22 the center of Ana was located near 34.2, -62.2 with movement WSW at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
24 May 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour