NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
2 Aug 2021 - 10:46 EDT
2 Aug 2021 - 14:46 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Bill at 43.5°N - 57.0°W

North Atlantic Ocean

Approximately 1200 miles from the U.S. east coast


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

16 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...BILL BECOMES EXTRATROPICAL... ...THIS IS THE LAST NHC ADVISORY... As of 11:00 PM AST Tue Jun 15 the center of Bill was located near 43.5, -57.0 with movement NE at 29 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

15 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...BILL ALMOST AN EXTRATROPICAL CYCLONE... As of 5:00 PM AST Tue Jun 15 the center of Bill was located near 41.6, -59.6 with movement NE at 36 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...BILL RACING NORTHEASTWARD... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME EXTRATROPICAL LATER TODAY... As of 11:00 AM AST Tue Jun 15 the center of Bill was located near 40.5, -62.0 with movement NE at 38 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Jun 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...BILL STRENGTHENS A LITTLE MORE... ...EXPECTED TO BE A SHORT-LIVED TROPICAL STORM... As of 5:00 AM AST Tue Jun 15 the center of Bill was located near 38.5, -67.2 with movement NE at 31 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

15 Jun 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRENGTHENS INTO TROPICAL STORM BILL... ...LIKELY TO BE SHORT-LIVED... As of 11:00 PM AST Mon Jun 14 the center of Bill was located near 36.7, -69.8 with movement NE at 23 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Jun 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL STORM TONIGHT... As of 5:00 PM EDT Mon Jun 14 the center of Two was located near 35.5, -72.0 with movement NE at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

14 Jun 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS OFFSHORE OF NORTH CAROLINA... ...HEADING AWAY FROM THE UNITED STATES... As of 11:00 AM EDT Mon Jun 14 the center of Two was located near 35.0, -73.7 with movement NE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
16 Jun 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour