NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
5 Aug 2020 - 09:17 EDT
5 Aug 2020 - 13:17 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Fay at 42.4°N - 73.9°W

Ulster County, NY


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

11 Jul 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...FAY DEGENERATES INTO A POST-TROPICAL LOW OVER EASTERN NEW YORK... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 5:00 AM EDT Sat Jul 11 the center of Fay was located near 42.4, -73.9 with movement N at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

11 Jul 2020 - 6:00 UTC ...FAY WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION OVER SOUTHEASTERN NEW YORK... As of 2:00 AM EDT Sat Jul 11 the center of Fay was located near 41.5, -74.0 with movement N at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

11 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...FAY CONTINUES TO WEAKEN AS THE CENTER MOVES INTO NORTHERN NEW JERSEY... As of 11:00 PM EDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Fay was located near 41.0, -74.2 with movement N at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

11 Jul 2020 - 0:00 UTC ...FAY WEAKENING AS THE CENTER MOVES NORTHWARD ACROSS EASTERN NEW JERSEY... As of 8:00 PM EDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Fay was located near 40.1, -74.3 with movement N at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS MOVING INTO NORTHERN NEW JERSEY...SOUTHEASTERN NEW YORK...AND LONG ISLAND... ...FAY MAKES LANDFALL JUST NORTH-NORTHEAST OF ATLANTIC CITY NEW JERSEY... As of 5:00 PM EDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Fay was located near 39.5, -74.3 with movement N at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 18:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAIN AND WINDS MOVING NORTHWARD ALONG THE MID-ATLANTIC COAST AS FAY'S CENTER NEARS THE JERSEY SHORE... As of 2:00 PM EDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Fay was located near 38.8, -74.5 with movement N at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS AND HEAVY RAINFALL SPREADING NORTHWARD ALONG THE MID-ATLANTIC COAST... As of 11:00 AM EDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Fay was located near 38.4, -74.5 with movement N at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 12:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING EXTENDED SOUTHWARD ALONG THE DELAWARE COASTLINE AS HEAVY RAINS AND GUSTY WINDS MOVE ONSHORE ALONG THE MID-ATLANTIC COAST... As of 8:00 AM EDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Fay was located near 37.6, -74.7 with movement N at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...FAY SLIGHTLY STRONGER AS IT HEADS NORTHWARD JUST OFFSHORE OF THE DELMARVA PENINSULA... As of 5:00 AM EDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Fay was located near 37.4, -74.8 with movement N at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 6:00 UTC ...FAY CONTINUING TO MOVE NORTHWARD JUST TO THE EAST OF THE MID-ATLANTIC STATES ... As of 2:00 AM EDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Fay was located near 36.7, -74.9 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...FAY CONTINUING TO MOVE NORTHWARD TO THE EAST OF NORTHEASTERN NORTH CAROLINA ... ...EXPECTED TO BRING HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS TO PORTIONS OF THE MID-ATLANTIC COAST AND SOUTHERN NEW ENGLAND... As of 11:00 PM EDT Thu Jul 9 the center of Fay was located near 36.3, -74.8 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 0:00 UTC ...FAY MOVING NORTHWARD EAST OF THE NORTH CAROLINA COAST ... ...EXPECTED TO BRING HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS TO PORTIONS OF THE MID-ATLANTIC COAST AND SOUTHERN NEW ENGLAND... As of 8:00 PM EDT Thu Jul 9 the center of Fay was located near 36.0, -74.8 with movement N at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

9 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT FINDS TROPICAL STORM FAY HAS FORMED JUST OFF THE COAST OF NORTH CAROLINA... ...EXPECTED TO BRING HEAVY RAINFALL AND GUSTY WINDS TO PORTIONS OF THE MID-ATLANTIC COAST AND SOUTHERN NEW ENGLAND... As of 5:00 PM EDT Thu Jul 9 the center of Fay was located near 35.5, -74.9 with movement N at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

Images updated every minutes.

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
11 Jul 2020 - 20:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Nighttime Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Images updated every minutes.

Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
11 Jul 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour