NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
8 Feb 2023 - 14:34 EST
8 Feb 2023 - 19:34 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Lisa at 21.2°N - 95.2°W

Last observation: 05 Nov 2022 - 22:50 UTC

Gulf of Mexico

« 2022 Storms »

30 Oct 2022 - 5 Nov 2022


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

5 Nov 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...LISA DISSIPATES OVER THE SOUTHWESTERN GULF OF MEXICO... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 10:00 AM CDT Sat Nov 5 the center of Lisa was located near 21.2, -95.2 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 25 mph.

5 Nov 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...LISA FORECAST TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW LATER THIS MORNING... As of 4:00 AM CDT Sat Nov 5 the center of Lisa was located near 19.8, -95.5 with movement NNW at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

5 Nov 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...LISA FORECAST TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW SOON... As of 10:00 PM CDT Fri Nov 4 the center of Lisa was located near 19.5, -95.5 with movement N at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

4 Nov 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...LISA MOVING NORTHWESTWARD OVER THE BAY OF CAMPECHE... ...FORECAST TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW TONIGHT OR SATURDAY... As of 4:00 PM CDT Fri Nov 4 the center of Lisa was located near 19.3, -95.3 with movement NNW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

4 Nov 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...LISA MOVING NORTHWESTWARD OVER THE BAY OF CAMPECHE... As of 10:00 AM CDT Fri Nov 4 the center of Lisa was located near 19.1, -94.6 with movement NW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

4 Nov 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...CENTER OF LISA EMERGES OVER THE BAY OF CAMPECHE... As of 4:00 AM CDT Fri Nov 4 the center of Lisa was located near 18.7, -94.0 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

4 Nov 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...LISA EXPECTED TO EMERGE OVER THE SOUTHWESTERN GULF OF MEXICO EARLY FRIDAY... As of 10:00 PM CDT Thu Nov 3 the center of Lisa was located near 18.1, -93.1 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

3 Nov 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...LISA CONTINUES MOVING OVER SOUTHEASTERN MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Thu Nov 3 the center of Lisa was located near 18.1, -92.2 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

3 Nov 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...LISA WEAKENS TO A DEPRESSION BUT STILL BRINGING HEAVY RAINS TO PORTIONS OF SOUTHEASTERN MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Thu Nov 3 the center of Lisa was located near 18.0, -91.0 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Nov 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...LISA MOVING OVER SOUTHEASTERN MEXICO... ...HEAVY RAINS CONTINUE... As of 7:00 AM CDT Thu Nov 3 the center of Lisa was located near 17.9, -90.6 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Nov 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...LISA CONTINUING TO WEAKEN AS IT MOVES FARTHER INLAND... ...ALL COASTAL TROPICAL STORM WARNINGS DISCONTINUED... As of 4:00 AM CDT Thu Nov 3 the center of Lisa was located near 17.8, -90.1 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

3 Nov 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...CENTER OF LISA NOW OVER NORTHEASTERN GUATEMALA... As of 1:00 AM CDT Thu Nov 3 the center of Lisa was located near 17.6, -89.6 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

3 Nov 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...LISA BRINGING HEAVY RAIN AND GUSTY WINDS TO BELIZE, NORTHERN GUATEMALA, AND SOUTHEASTERN MEXICO... As of 10:00 PM CDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.6, -89.1 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

3 Nov 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...LISA BRINGING WIND, RAIN, AND STORM SURGE TO BELIZE... As of 7:00 PM CDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.5, -88.5 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 21:20 UTC ...LISA MAKES LANDFALL IN BELIZE... As of 4:20 PM CDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.4, -88.3 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...LISA ABOUT TO MAKE LANDFALL NEAR BELIZE CITY... As of 4:00 PM CDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.4, -88.2 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...LISA VERY NEAR BELIZE BARRIER REEF... ...EXPECTED TO MAKE LANDFALL IN BELIZE IN THE NEXT FEW HOURS... As of 1:00 PM CDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.3, -87.7 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...LISA EXPECTED TO BRING HURRICANE CONDITIONS TO THE COAST OF BELIZE LATER TODAY... As of 10:00 AM CDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.2, -87.4 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...LISA BECOMES A HURRICANE WHILE HEADED FOR BELIZE... As of 7:00 AM CDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.2, -86.7 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 988 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...LISA MOVING WESTWARD TOWARD THE COAST OF BELIZE... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE IN THE NEXT SEVERAL HOURS... As of 4:00 AM CDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.1, -86.0 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 992 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...HURRICANE HUNTERS FIND LISA REMAINS JUST BELOW HURRICANE STRENGTH... As of 2:00 AM EDT Wed Nov 2 the center of Lisa was located near 17.1, -85.4 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...HURRICANE HUNTERS FIND LISA IS ALMOST A HURRICANE... ...HURRICANE WARNING ISSUED FOR PORTIONS OF THE YUCATAN PENINSULA... As of 11:00 PM EDT Tue Nov 1 the center of Lisa was located near 16.8, -84.7 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

2 Nov 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...AIR FORCE AND NOAA AIRCRAFT INVESTIGATING LISA THIS EVENING... As of 8:00 PM EDT Tue Nov 1 the center of Lisa was located near 16.7, -84.0 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

1 Nov 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...LISA FORECAST TO RAPIDLY INTENSIFY INTO A HURRICANE OVERNIGHT... As of 5:00 PM EDT Tue Nov 1 the center of Lisa was located near 16.7, -83.3 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

1 Nov 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...HURRICANE WARNING ISSUED FOR ENTIRE COAST OF BELIZE... As of 2:00 PM EDT Tue Nov 1 the center of Lisa was located near 16.5, -82.5 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

1 Nov 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...HURRICANE WARNING ISSUED FOR STRENGTHENING LISA... As of 11:00 AM EDT Tue Nov 1 the center of Lisa was located near 16.3, -81.8 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

1 Nov 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...LISA POISED TO STRENGTHEN TODAY... ...AIR FORCE RESERVE HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT INVESTIGATING THE STORM... As of 8:00 AM EDT Tue Nov 1 the center of Lisa was located near 16.1, -81.1 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

1 Nov 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...LISA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN TODAY... ...AIR FORCE RESERVE RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT EN ROUTE TO INVESTIGATE THE STORM... As of 5:00 AM EDT Tue Nov 1 the center of Lisa was located near 16.0, -80.5 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

1 Nov 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...LISA EXPECTED TO STRENGTHEN AS IT APPROACHES CENTRAL AMERICA... As of 2:00 AM EDT Tue Nov 1 the center of Lisa was located near 15.8, -79.8 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

1 Nov 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...LISA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN AS IT APPROACHES CENTRAL AMERICA... ...HURRICANE WATCH REMAINS IN EFFECT FOR BELIZE AND THE BAY ISLANDS OF HONDURAS... As of 11:00 PM EDT Mon Oct 31 the center of Lisa was located near 15.6, -79.1 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

1 Nov 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...LISA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN AS IT APPROACHES CENTRAL AMERICA... As of 8:00 PM EDT Mon Oct 31 the center of Lisa was located near 15.5, -78.9 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

31 Oct 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...HURRICANE WATCH ISSUED FOR THE BAY ISLANDS OF HONDURAS AND THE COAST OF BELIZE... As of 5:00 PM EDT Mon Oct 31 the center of Lisa was located near 15.5, -78.4 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

31 Oct 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...LISA A LITTLE STRONGER SOUTH OF JAMAICA... As of 2:00 PM EDT Mon Oct 31 the center of Lisa was located near 15.4, -77.6 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

31 Oct 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE BECOMES TROPICAL STORM LISA IN THE CENTRAL CARIBBEAN SEA... ...EXPECTED TO GRADUALLY STRENGTHEN OVER THE NEXT FEW DAYS... As of 11:00 AM EDT Mon Oct 31 the center of Lisa was located near 15.5, -77.3 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

31 Oct 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...NOAA HURRICANE HUNTERS INVESTIGATING THE DISTURBANCE... As of 8:00 AM EDT Mon Oct 31 the center of Fifteen was located near 15.6, -76.7 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

31 Oct 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE LIKELY TO BEGIN STRENGTHENING LATER TODAY... As of 5:00 AM EDT Mon Oct 31 the center of Fifteen was located near 15.8, -76.1 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

31 Oct 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL STORM TODAY... As of 2:00 AM EDT Mon Oct 31 the center of Fifteen was located near 15.8, -75.5 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

31 Oct 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...NOAA HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT REPORTS LITTLE CHANGE IN THE DISTURBANCE... As of 11:00 PM EDT Sun Oct 30 the center of Fifteen was located near 15.8, -74.9 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

31 Oct 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD ACROSS THE CENTRAL CARIBBEAN SEA... ...NOAA HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT ENROUTE TO INVESTIGATE... As of 8:00 PM EDT Sun Oct 30 the center of Fifteen was located near 15.8, -74.1 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

30 Oct 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...ADVISORIES INITIATED ON POTENTIAL TROPICAL CYCLONE FIFTEEN... ...TROPICAL STORM WATCHES ISSUED FOR JAMAICA AND GRAND CAYMAN ISLAND... As of 5:00 PM EDT Sun Oct 30 the center of Fifteen was located near 15.7, -73.6 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Lisa at 21.2°N - 95.2°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
5 Nov 2022 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
5 Nov 2022 - 22:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
5 Nov 2022 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour