NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
6 Dec 2021 - 22:35 EST
7 Dec 2021 - 03:35 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Nana at 15.6°N - 92.0°W

Mexico

« 2020 Storms »

1 Sep 2020 - 4 Sep 2020


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

4 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...NANA DISSIPATES NEAR THE GUATEMALA/MEXICO BORDER... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 10:00 PM CDT Thu Sep 3 the center of Nana was located near 15.6, -92.0 with movement WSW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

3 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...NANA WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 4:00 PM CDT Thu Sep 3 the center of Nana was located near 16.0, -91.1 with movement WSW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Sep 2020 - 18:00 UTC ...NANA EXPECTED TO WEAKEN TO A DEPRESSION DURING THE NEXT FEW HOURS... As of 1:00 PM CDT Thu Sep 3 the center of Nana was located near 16.3, -90.6 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...NANA WEAKENING RAPIDLY OVER NORTHERN GUATEMALA AND SOUTHEASTERN MEXICO... ...ALL COASTAL WATCHES AND WARNINGS DISCONTINUED... As of 10:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 3 the center of Nana was located near 16.4, -90.3 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

3 Sep 2020 - 12:00 UTC ...NANA INLAND OVER NORTHERN GUATEMALA... As of 7:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 3 the center of Nana was located near 16.6, -89.7 with movement WSW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

3 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...NANA INLAND OVER SOUTHERN BELIZE... As of 4:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 3 the center of Nana was located near 16.7, -88.8 with movement WSW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 997 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

3 Sep 2020 - 6:00 UTC ...NANA MAKES LANDFALL ON THE COAST OF BELIZE BETWEEN DANGRIGA AND PLACENCIA... As of 1:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 3 the center of Nana was located near 16.8, -88.3 with movement WSW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

3 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...DATA FROM AN AIR FORCE HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT INDICATES NANA HAS BECOME A HURRICANE... ...EXPECTED TO MAKE LANDFALL ALONG THE COAST OF BELIZE OVERNIGHT... As of 10:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 2 the center of Nana was located near 17.0, -87.5 with movement W at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

3 Sep 2020 - 0:00 UTC ...CENTER OF NANA PASSING JUST NORTH OF THE BAY ISLANDS OF HONDURAS... As of 7:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 2 the center of Nana was located near 17.0, -86.8 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...NANA CONTINUING WESTWARD TOWARD THE COAST OF BELIZE... ...COULD BECOME A HURRICANE BEFORE LANDFALL... As of 4:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 2 the center of Nana was located near 17.0, -85.9 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Sep 2020 - 18:00 UTC ...AIR FORCE RESERVE HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT REPORTS NANA HAS CHANGED LITTLE IN STRENGTH... As of 2:00 PM EDT Wed Sep 2 the center of Nana was located near 17.1, -85.1 with movement W at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...NANA CONTINUING WESTWARD AND EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE TONIGHT... ...HURRICANE WARNING ISSUED FOR PORTIONS OF THE COAST OF BELIZE... As of 11:00 AM EDT Wed Sep 2 the center of Nana was located near 17.1, -84.6 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Sep 2020 - 12:00 UTC ...NOAA HURRICANE HUNTER REPORTS NANA CONTINUES WESTWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... ...LIKELY TO BECOME A HURRICANE BY TONIGHT... As of 8:00 AM EDT Wed Sep 2 the center of Nana was located near 17.1, -83.7 with movement W at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...NANA CONTINUES WESTWARD... ...LIKELY TO BECOME A HURRICANE BY TONIGHT... As of 5:00 AM EDT Wed Sep 2 the center of Nana was located near 17.0, -82.7 with movement W at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 997 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Sep 2020 - 6:00 UTC ...NANA EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE BY TONIGHT... As of 2:00 AM EDT Wed Sep 2 the center of Nana was located near 17.0, -81.8 with movement W at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...AIR FORCE HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT FINDS NANA A LITTLE STRONGER... As of 11:00 PM EDT Tue Sep 1 the center of Nana was located near 17.0, -80.9 with movement W at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

2 Sep 2020 - 0:00 UTC ...NANA MOVING STEADILY WESTWARD... ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING AND A HURRICANE WATCH IN EFFECT FOR THE COAST OF BELIZE... As of 8:00 PM EDT Tue Sep 1 the center of Nana was located near 16.9, -80.1 with movement W at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

1 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...NANA MOVING WESTWARD OVER THE CENTRAL CARIBBEAN SEA... ...NEW TROPICAL STORM WARNING AND WATCH ISSUED... As of 5:00 PM EDT Tue Sep 1 the center of Nana was located near 16.8, -79.3 with movement W at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

1 Sep 2020 - 18:00 UTC ...RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT FINDS TROPICAL STORM NANA GETTING A LITTLE BETTER ORGANIZED SOUTHWEST OF JAMAICA... As of 2:00 PM EDT Tue Sep 1 the center of Nana was located near 16.7, -78.4 with movement W at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

1 Sep 2020 - 17:00 UTC ...AIR FORCE RESERVE RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT FINDS THAT TROPICAL STORM NANA HAS FORMED SOUTH OF JAMAICA... ...TROPICAL STORM WATCH ISSUED FOR BELIZE... As of 1:00 PM EDT Tue Sep 1 the center of Nana was located near 16.6, -77.9 with movement W at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

1 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT FINDS VIGOROUS TROPICAL DISTURBANCE SOUTH OF JAMAICA GETTING BETTER ORGANIZED... ...TROPICAL STORM WATCH ISSUED FOR NORTHERN HONDURAS AND THE OFFSHORE ROATAN ISLANDS... As of 11:00 AM EDT Tue Sep 1 the center of Sixteen was located near 16.1, -77.5 with movement WNW at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
4 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
4 Sep 2020 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
4 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
4 Sep 2020 - 11:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour