NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
5 Aug 2020 - 10:23 EDT
5 Aug 2020 - 14:23 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Cristina at 20.7°N - 126.5°W

North Pacific Ocean


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

13 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...CRISTINA BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST NHC ADVISORY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sun Jul 12 the center of Cristina was located near 20.7, -126.5 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

12 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...CRISTINA EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW SOON... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sun Jul 12 the center of Cristina was located near 20.7, -125.5 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

12 Jul 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...CRISTINA CONTINUES TO WEAKEN... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW BY MONDAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sun Jul 12 the center of Cristina was located near 20.7, -124.4 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

12 Jul 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...CRISTINA WEAKENING... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW ON MONDAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sun Jul 12 the center of Cristina was located near 20.7, -123.3 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

12 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...CRISTINA MOVING WESTWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH DURING THE PAST SEVERAL HOURS... As of 5:00 PM HST Sat Jul 11 the center of Cristina was located near 20.6, -122.2 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

11 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...CRISTINA CONTINUES TO WEAKEN OVER COOLER WATERS... As of 11:00 AM HST Sat Jul 11 the center of Cristina was located near 20.6, -121.0 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

11 Jul 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...CRISTINA BEGINNING TO WEAKEN... As of 5:00 AM HST Sat Jul 11 the center of Cristina was located near 20.6, -119.7 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

11 Jul 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...CRISTINA EXPECTED TO BEGIN WEAKENING SOON... As of 11:00 PM HST Fri Jul 10 the center of Cristina was located near 20.4, -118.3 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

11 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...CRISTINA HOLDING ON OVER COOLER WATERS... As of 5:00 PM HST Fri Jul 10 the center of Cristina was located near 20.1, -116.8 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...CRISTINA HEADING INTO COOLER WATER... As of 11:00 AM HST Fri Jul 10 the center of Cristina was located near 19.8, -115.5 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...CRISTINA STILL A TROPICAL STORM... As of 9:00 AM MDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Cristina was located near 19.1, -114.2 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...CRISTINA ALMOST A HURRICANE... As of 3:00 AM MDT Fri Jul 10 the center of Cristina was located near 18.8, -113.0 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

10 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...CRISTINA FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE ON FRIDAY... As of 9:00 PM MDT Thu Jul 9 the center of Cristina was located near 18.4, -111.9 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

9 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...CRISTINA ALMOST A HURRICANE... As of 3:00 PM MDT Thu Jul 9 the center of Cristina was located near 17.9, -111.1 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

9 Jul 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...CRISTINA TO PASS JUST SOUTH OF SOCORRO ISLAND TODAY... As of 9:00 AM MDT Thu Jul 9 the center of Cristina was located near 17.4, -110.2 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

9 Jul 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...CRISTINA COULD BECOME A HURRICANE IN A DAY OR SO... As of 3:00 AM MDT Thu Jul 9 the center of Cristina was located near 16.8, -109.4 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

9 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...CRISTINA STRENGTHENS A LITTLE WHILE REMAINING WELL OFFSHORE THE COAST OF MEXICO... ...STILL EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE BY EARLY FRIDAY... As of 9:00 PM MDT Wed Jul 8 the center of Cristina was located near 16.4, -108.6 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

8 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...CRISTINA CONTINUING AS A TROPICAL STORM WELL OFFSHORE THE COAST OF MEXICO... As of 3:00 PM MDT Wed Jul 8 the center of Cristina was located near 16.0, -107.7 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

8 Jul 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...CRISTINA STRENGTHENING WELL OFF THE COAST OF MEXICO... As of 9:00 AM MDT Wed Jul 8 the center of Cristina was located near 14.6, -106.9 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

8 Jul 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...CRISTINA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN WELL OFF THE COAST OF MEXICO... As of 3:00 AM MDT Wed Jul 8 the center of Cristina was located near 13.9, -106.5 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

8 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...CRISTINA EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE BY THURSDAY... As of 10:00 PM CDT Tue Jul 7 the center of Cristina was located near 13.8, -105.3 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

7 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...CRISTINA SLIGHTLY STRONGER... ...FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE IN A DAY OR TWO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Tue Jul 7 the center of Cristina was located near 13.0, -103.8 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

7 Jul 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...CRISTINA FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE IN A DAY OR TWO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Tue Jul 7 the center of Cristina was located near 12.2, -102.8 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Jul 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...CRISTINA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN WELL SOUTH OF MEXICO... As of 4:00 AM CDT Tue Jul 7 the center of Cristina was located near 11.5, -102.4 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Jul 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRENGTHENS INTO TROPICAL STORM CRISTINA... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE BY WEDNESDAY MORNING... As of 10:00 PM CDT Mon Jul 6 the center of Cristina was located near 11.2, -101.3 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

6 Jul 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS WELL SOUTH OF MEXICO... ...EXPECTED TO STEADILY STRENGTHEN OVER THE NEXT FEW DAYS... As of 4:00 PM CDT Mon Jul 6 the center of Five-E was located near 10.5, -99.7 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

Images updated every minutes.

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Nighttime Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Images updated every minutes.

Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
13 Jul 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour