NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
28 Nov 2021 - 01:20 EST
28 Nov 2021 - 06:20 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Felicia at 14.9°N - 140.9°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

14 Jul 2021 - 21 Jul 2021

Approximately 1000 miles from Hawaii


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

21 Jul 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...FELICIA ENTERS THE CENTRAL PACIFIC AND BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... As of 5:00 PM HST Tue Jul 20 the center of Felicia was located near 14.9, -140.9 with movement WSW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

20 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...FELICIA WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION AS IT ENTERS THE CENTRAL PACIFIC... As of 11:00 AM HST Tue Jul 20 the center of Felicia was located near 15.3, -139.4 with movement WSW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

20 Jul 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...FELICIA FADING FAST BUT STILL A TROPICAL STORM... ...LIKELY TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW TOMORROW... As of 5:00 AM HST Tue Jul 20 the center of Felicia was located near 15.8, -138.0 with movement W at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

20 Jul 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...FELICIA CONTINUES WEAKENING... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A DEPRESSION ON TUESDAY... As of 11:00 PM HST Mon Jul 19 the center of Felicia was located near 15.9, -136.3 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

20 Jul 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...FELICIA CONTINUES TO RAPIDLY WEAKEN... As of 5:00 PM HST Mon Jul 19 the center of Felicia was located near 16.1, -134.8 with movement W at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

19 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...FELICIA WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL STORM... As of 11:00 AM HST Mon Jul 19 the center of Felicia was located near 16.1, -133.4 with movement W at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

19 Jul 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...FELICIA RAPIDLY WEAKENING AS IT HEADS TOWARD THE CENTRAL PACIFIC... As of 5:00 AM HST Mon Jul 19 the center of Felicia was located near 16.3, -132.3 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

19 Jul 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...FELICIA CONTINUES RAPIDLY WEAKENING... As of 11:00 PM HST Sun Jul 18 the center of Felicia was located near 16.4, -131.0 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 979 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

19 Jul 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...FELICIA RAPIDLY WEAKENING... As of 5:00 PM HST Sun Jul 18 the center of Felicia was located near 16.3, -130.1 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 971 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 110 mph.

18 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...FEISTY FELICIA FINALLY WEAKENING FASTER... As of 11:00 AM HST Sun Jul 18 the center of Felicia was located near 16.0, -129.0 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 961 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 120 mph.

18 Jul 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...SMALL FELICIA STILL PACKING A CATEGORY FOUR PUNCH... As of 5:00 AM HST Sun Jul 18 the center of Felicia was located near 15.7, -128.1 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 954 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 130 mph.

18 Jul 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...FELICIA REMAINS A CATEGORY FOUR HURRICANE... ...EXPECTED TO GRADUALLY WEAKEN THIS WEEK... As of 11:00 PM HST Sat Jul 17 the center of Felicia was located near 15.5, -127.1 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 949 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 140 mph.

18 Jul 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...FIERCE FELICIA FORECAST TO GRADUALLY WEAKEN NEXT WEEK... As of 5:00 PM HST Sat Jul 17 the center of Felicia was located near 15.2, -126.1 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 949 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 140 mph.

17 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...CATEGORY FOUR FELICIA MAINTAINING STRENGTH AND NOW MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD... As of 11:00 AM HST Sat Jul 17 the center of Felicia was located near 14.9, -125.3 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 947 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 145 mph.

17 Jul 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...TINY BUT FEROCIOUS FELICIA CONTINUES ITS WESTWARD TREK... As of 5:00 AM HST Sat Jul 17 the center of Felicia was located near 14.6, -124.6 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 947 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 145 mph.

17 Jul 2021 - 13:30 UTC ...FELICIA STRENGTHENS FURTHER... As of 3:30 AM HST Sat Jul 17 the center of Felicia was located near 14.5, -124.3 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 947 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 145 mph.

17 Jul 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...FELICIA CONTINUES WESTWARD AS A COMPACT CATEGORY 4 HURRICANE... As of 11:00 PM HST Fri Jul 16 the center of Felicia was located near 14.5, -123.9 with movement WSW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 954 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 130 mph.

17 Jul 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...POWERFUL YET COMPACT FELICIA CONTINUES WESTWARD... As of 5:00 PM HST Fri Jul 16 the center of Felicia was located near 14.8, -123.2 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 954 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 130 mph.

16 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...FELICIA STRENGTHENS INTO A CATEGORY 4 HURRICANE... As of 11:00 AM HST Fri Jul 16 the center of Felicia was located near 14.9, -122.4 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 955 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 130 mph.

16 Jul 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...FELICIA CONTINUES TO RAPIDLY STRENGTHEN... ...NOW A STRONG CATEGORY 3 HURRICANE... As of 8:00 AM PDT Fri Jul 16 the center of Felicia was located near 15.0, -121.6 with movement WSW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 962 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 125 mph.

16 Jul 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...FELICIA BECOMES A MAJOR HURRICANE... ...FURTHER STRENGTHENING FORECASTED... As of 2:00 AM PDT Fri Jul 16 the center of Felicia was located near 15.1, -121.0 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 968 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

16 Jul 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...FELICIA CONTINUES RAPIDLY INTENSIFYING... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A MAJOR HURRICANE OVERNIGHT... As of 8:00 PM PDT Thu Jul 15 the center of Felicia was located near 15.2, -120.2 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 971 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 110 mph.

15 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...FELICIA STRENGTHENS INTO A CATEGORY TWO HURRICANE... As of 2:00 PM PDT Thu Jul 15 the center of Felicia was located near 15.2, -119.4 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 979 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

15 Jul 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...FELICIA CONTINUES TO QUICKLY INTENSIFY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Thu Jul 15 the center of Felicia was located near 15.2, -118.6 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 984 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

15 Jul 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...FELICIA RAPIDLY INTENSIFIES INTO A HURRICANE... ...FURTHER INTENSIFICATION EXPECTED... As of 2:00 AM PDT Thu Jul 15 the center of Felicia was located near 15.2, -117.6 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

15 Jul 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...FELICIA A LITTLE STRONGER... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE SOON... As of 8:00 PM PDT Wed Jul 14 the center of Felicia was located near 15.1, -116.7 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

14 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...FELICIA CONTINUES TO RAPIDLY STRENGTHEN... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE TONIGHT... As of 2:00 PM PDT Wed Jul 14 the center of Felicia was located near 14.8, -115.3 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

14 Jul 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...FELICIA STRENGTHENING QUICKLY... ...FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE TONIGHT OR THURSDAY... As of 9:00 AM MDT Wed Jul 14 the center of Felicia was located near 14.3, -114.1 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

14 Jul 2021 - 13:15 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRENGTHENS TO A TROPICAL STORM... As of 7:15 AM MDT Wed Jul 14 the center of Felicia was located near 14.1, -113.6 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Jul 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS WELL SOUTH-SOUTHWEST OF BAJA CALIFORNIA... As of 3:00 AM MDT Wed Jul 14 the center of Six-E was located near 14.2, -112.8 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
21 Jul 2021 - 10:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
21 Jul 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour