NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
7 Oct 2022 - 07:47 EDT
7 Oct 2022 - 11:47 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Ignacio at 20.1°N - 115.0°W

Last observation: 04 Aug 2021 - 10:56 UTC

North Pacific Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

1 Aug 2021 - 4 Aug 2021


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

4 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...IGNACIO BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 3 the center of Ignacio was located near 20.1, -115.0 with movement ESE at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

3 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...IGNACIO WEAKENING AND EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW SOON... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 3 the center of Ignacio was located near 20.4, -115.7 with movement E at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

3 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...IGNACIO EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW BY TONIGHT... As of 8:00 AM PDT Tue Aug 3 the center of Ignacio was located near 20.5, -116.7 with movement NNW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...IGNACIO WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW TUESDAY NIGHT... As of 2:00 AM PDT Tue Aug 3 the center of Ignacio was located near 20.1, -116.3 with movement NW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...DISORGANIZED IGNACIO LIKELY TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW TOMORROW NIGHT... As of 8:00 PM PDT Mon Aug 2 the center of Ignacio was located near 19.6, -115.7 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

2 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...IGNACIO EXPECTED TO BE A SHORT-LIVED TROPICAL STORM... ...WEAKENING FORECAST TO BEGIN LATER TONIGHT... As of 3:00 PM MDT Mon Aug 2 the center of Ignacio was located near 18.8, -114.9 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

2 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRENGTHENS INTO TROPICAL STORM IGNACIO... As of 9:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 2 the center of Ignacio was located near 18.3, -114.0 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

2 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION FORECAST TO BECOME A SHORT-LIVED TROPICAL STORM... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 2 the center of Ten-E was located near 18.0, -113.4 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

2 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION LIKELY TO BECOME A SHORT-LIVED TROPICAL STORM... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sun Aug 1 the center of Ten-E was located near 17.6, -112.9 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

1 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS WELL SOUTH OF BAJA CALIFORNIA... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sun Aug 1 the center of Ten-E was located near 17.4, -111.9 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Ignacio at 20.1°N - 115.0°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
4 Aug 2021 - 10:56 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
4 Aug 2021 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour