NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
28 Nov 2021 - 01:04 EST
28 Nov 2021 - 06:04 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Kevin at 23.2°N - 120.6°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

7 Aug 2021 - 12 Aug 2021


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

12 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...KEVIN DEGENERATES INTO A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Thu Aug 12 the center of Kevin was located near 23.2, -120.6 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

12 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...KEVIN WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW LATER TODAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Thu Aug 12 the center of Kevin was located near 22.3, -119.3 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

12 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...KEVIN WEAKENING... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW FRIDAY MORNING... As of 8:00 PM PDT Wed Aug 11 the center of Kevin was located near 22.0, -118.2 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

11 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...KEVIN CONTINUES AS A LARGE TROPICAL STORM WELL OFFSHORE OF BAJA CALIFORNIA... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW BY LATE THURSDAY... As of 2:00 PM PDT Wed Aug 11 the center of Kevin was located near 21.1, -117.8 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

11 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...KEVIN ABOUT TO MOVE OVER COOLER WATERS... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW BY EARLY FRIDAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Wed Aug 11 the center of Kevin was located near 21.0, -116.8 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

11 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...KEVIN WEAKENS SOME MORE... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A DEPRESSION TONIGHT... As of 2:00 AM PDT Wed Aug 11 the center of Kevin was located near 19.8, -116.4 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

11 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...POORLY ORGANIZED KEVIN MOVING SLOWLY NORTHWESTWARD... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 10 the center of Kevin was located near 19.5, -115.4 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

10 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...DISHEVELED KEVIN CROSSES CLARION ISLAND... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 10 the center of Kevin was located near 19.1, -115.5 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

10 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...KEVIN EXPECTED TO REACH COOLER WATERS TOMORROW... As of 9:00 AM MDT Tue Aug 10 the center of Kevin was located near 19.1, -114.3 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

10 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...KEVIN STILL A SHEARED TROPICAL STORM... As of 3:00 AM MDT Tue Aug 10 the center of Kevin was located near 18.1, -113.3 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

10 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...KEVIN CONTINUES MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD... ...EXPECTED TO PASS NEAR CLARION ISLAND OVERNIGHT... As of 9:00 PM MDT Mon Aug 9 the center of Kevin was located near 17.4, -112.9 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

9 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...POORLY ORGANIZED KEVIN CONTINUES TO STRUGGLE... As of 3:00 PM MDT Mon Aug 9 the center of Kevin was located near 17.0, -112.2 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

9 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...KEVIN MAINTAINS ITS STRENGTH AS IT CONTINUES TO BATTLE WIND SHEAR... As of 9:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 9 the center of Kevin was located near 16.6, -111.5 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

9 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...SLIGHTLY WEAKER KEVIN IS STRUGGLING WITH WIND SHEAR... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 9 the center of Kevin was located near 16.3, -110.9 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

9 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...KEVIN HOLDING STEADY IN STRENGTH BUT STILL FORECAST TO INTENSIFY... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sun Aug 8 the center of Kevin was located near 16.0, -110.3 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

8 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...KEVIN EXPECTED TO RESUME STRENGTHENING TONIGHT... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sun Aug 8 the center of Kevin was located near 15.8, -109.7 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

8 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...KEVIN STRENGTHENING AS IT MOVES WESTWARD... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sun Aug 8 the center of Kevin was located near 15.8, -109.0 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

8 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...KEVIN EXPECTED TO STRENGTHEN TODAY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sun Aug 8 the center of Kevin was located near 15.8, -108.7 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

8 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...KEVIN STRENGTHENS A LITTLE... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE IN A DAY OR SO... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sat Aug 7 the center of Kevin was located near 15.8, -107.7 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

7 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...YET ANOTHER TROPICAL STORM FORMS OVER THE EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sat Aug 7 the center of Kevin was located near 15.8, -106.8 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS OFFSHORE THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Sat Aug 7 the center of Eleven-E was located near 15.9, -105.5 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
12 Aug 2021 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
12 Aug 2021 - 22:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
12 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour