NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
8 Dec 2021 - 20:24 EST
9 Dec 2021 - 01:24 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Julio at 19.5°N - 112.6°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2020 Storms »

5 Sep 2020 - 7 Sep 2020


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

7 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...JULIO DEGENERATES INTO A TROUGH OF LOW PRESSURE... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Sep 7 the center of Julio was located near 19.5, -112.6 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

7 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...JULIO DOWNGRADED TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sun Sep 6 the center of Julio was located near 19.4, -111.3 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

6 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...COMPACT JULIO MOVING AWAY FROM MEXICO... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sun Sep 6 the center of Julio was located near 19.3, -110.0 with movement WNW at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

6 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...JULIO ACCELERATES WEST-NORTHWESTWARD AWAY FROM THE SOUTHWEST COAST OF MEXICO... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 6 the center of Julio was located near 19.2, -108.8 with movement WNW at 23 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

6 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...JULIO STRENGTHENS SLIGHTLY AS IT BEGINS TO MOVE AWAY FROM THE COAST OF MEXICO... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 6 the center of Julio was located near 17.6, -106.0 with movement WNW at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

6 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...JULIO MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD OFFSHORE OF THE COAST OF MEXICO... As of 10:00 PM CDT Sat Sep 5 the center of Julio was located near 16.6, -104.2 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

5 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM JULIO FORMS JUST SOUTH OF THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Sat Sep 5 the center of Julio was located near 16.1, -102.7 with movement WNW at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
7 Sep 2020 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
7 Sep 2020 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
7 Sep 2020 - 17:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour