NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
3 Oct 2022 - 17:09 EDT
3 Oct 2022 - 21:09 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Newton at 18.4°N - 117.1°W

Last observation: 26 Sep 2022 - 04:41 UTC

North Pacific Ocean

« 2022 Storms »

21 Sep 2022 - 25 Sep 2022


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

25 Sep 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...NEWTON BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sun Sep 25 the center of Newton was located near 18.4, -117.1 with movement SW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

25 Sep 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...NEWTON FORECAST TO WEAKEN... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sun Sep 25 the center of Newton was located near 19.0, -116.4 with movement WSW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

25 Sep 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...NEWTON HANGING ON AS A DEPRESSION... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sun Sep 25 the center of Newton was located near 19.4, -115.6 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

25 Sep 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...NEWTON IS BARELY A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sat Sep 24 the center of Newton was located near 19.5, -114.8 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

24 Sep 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...NEWTON WEAKENS INTO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sat Sep 24 the center of Newton was located near 19.4, -113.9 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

24 Sep 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...NEWTON MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sat Sep 24 the center of Newton was located near 19.1, -113.2 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

24 Sep 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...NEWTON WEAKENING AS IT MOVES AWAY FROM SOCORRO ISLAND ... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sat Sep 24 the center of Newton was located near 18.9, -112.4 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

24 Sep 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...NEWTON SOUTHWEST OF SOCORRO ISLAND ... As of 9:00 PM MDT Fri Sep 23 the center of Newton was located near 18.6, -111.9 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

23 Sep 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...NEWTON PASSING SOUTH OF SOCORRO ISLAND... As of 3:00 PM MDT Fri Sep 23 the center of Newton was located near 18.2, -111.3 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

23 Sep 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...NEWTON NEARING SOCORRO ISLAND... As of 9:00 AM MDT Fri Sep 23 the center of Newton was located near 18.4, -110.9 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

23 Sep 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...NEWTON WEAKENS SOME WHILE APPROACHING SOCORRO ISLAND... As of 3:00 AM MDT Fri Sep 23 the center of Newton was located near 18.1, -110.4 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

23 Sep 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...NEWTON CONTINUES MOVING TOWARDS SOCORRO ISLAND... As of 9:00 PM MDT Thu Sep 22 the center of Newton was located near 17.9, -109.8 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

22 Sep 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...NEWTON MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD TOWARDS SOCORRO ISLAND... As of 3:00 PM MDT Thu Sep 22 the center of Newton was located near 18.0, -109.0 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

22 Sep 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...SMALL NEWTON MOVES WEST-NORTHWESTWARD... As of 9:00 AM MDT Thu Sep 22 the center of Newton was located near 17.9, -108.4 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

22 Sep 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...TINY NEWTON STRONGER... As of 3:00 AM MDT Thu Sep 22 the center of Newton was located near 17.7, -107.8 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

22 Sep 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM NEWTON STRENGTHENS OFF THE COAST OF SOUTHWEST MEXICO... As of 9:00 PM MDT Wed Sep 21 the center of Newton was located near 17.6, -107.0 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

22 Sep 2022 - 0:55 UTC ...DEPRESSION BECOMES TROPICAL STORM NEWTON... As of 7:55 PM CDT Wed Sep 21 the center of Newton was located near 17.5, -106.6 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

21 Sep 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...YET ANOTHER TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS IN THE EASTERN PACIFIC... ...EXPECTED TO MOVE AWAY FROM MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 21 the center of Fifteen-E was located near 17.1, -105.3 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Newton at 18.4°N - 117.1°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
26 Sep 2022 - 04:46 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
26 Sep 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour