NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
28 Nov 2021 - 00:09 EST
28 Nov 2021 - 05:09 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Karina at 23.3°N - 125.0°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2020 Storms »

13 Sep 2020 - 17 Sep 2020


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

17 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KARINA BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST NHC ADVISORY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Wed Sep 16 the center of Karina was located near 23.3, -125.0 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

16 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...KARINA WEAKENS TO A DEPRESSION AND WILL SOON BECOME A REMNANT LOW... As of 2:00 PM PDT Wed Sep 16 the center of Karina was located near 23.0, -124.6 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

16 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...KARINA EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW TONIGHT... As of 8:00 AM PDT Wed Sep 16 the center of Karina was located near 22.6, -123.9 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

16 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...KARINA WEAKENING... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW IN A DAY OR SO... As of 2:00 AM PDT Wed Sep 16 the center of Karina was located near 21.7, -123.7 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

16 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KARINA HANGING ON BUT WILL SOON WEAKEN... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Sep 15 the center of Karina was located near 21.3, -123.0 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...COOLER WATERS WILL SOON WEAKEN KARINA... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Sep 15 the center of Karina was located near 20.7, -122.1 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...KARINA FORECAST TO BEGIN WEAKENING SOON... As of 8:00 AM PDT Tue Sep 15 the center of Karina was located near 20.4, -121.1 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...KARINA STRENGTHENS A LITTLE MORE... As of 2:00 AM PDT Tue Sep 15 the center of Karina was located near 19.8, -120.6 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

15 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KARINA A LITTLE STRONGER THIS EVENING... As of 8:00 PM PDT Mon Sep 14 the center of Karina was located near 19.1, -119.8 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

14 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...KARINA AT PEAK INTENSITY OVER THE OPEN EAST PACIFIC WATERS... As of 2:00 PM PDT Mon Sep 14 the center of Karina was located near 18.5, -118.8 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...KARINA RESUMES ITS NORTHWEST MOTION OVER THE OPEN EAST PACIFIC WATERS... As of 8:00 AM PDT Mon Sep 14 the center of Karina was located near 18.1, -118.5 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...KARINA JOGS WESTWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 2:00 AM PDT Mon Sep 14 the center of Karina was located near 17.9, -118.2 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KARINA MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sun Sep 13 the center of Karina was located near 18.2, -117.1 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

13 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...KARINA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN A LITTLE OVER THE NEXT DAY OR TWO... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sun Sep 13 the center of Karina was located near 17.8, -116.0 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

13 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...KARINA A LITTLE STRONGER... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 13 the center of Karina was located near 17.6, -114.7 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

13 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC No description available

13 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...NEW DEPRESSION FORMS... ...FORECAST TO MOVE WELL AWAY FROM MEXICO... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sat Sep 12 the center of Sixteen-E was located near 16.7, -112.9 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
17 Sep 2020 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 11:00 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
17 Sep 2020 - 10:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour