NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
21 Oct 2020 - 07:33 EDT
21 Oct 2020 - 11:33 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Lowell at 21.6°N - 130.5°W

North Pacific Ocean


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

25 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...LOWELL IS NOW A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST NHC ADVISORY... As of 11:00 AM HST Fri Sep 25 the center of Lowell was located near 21.6, -130.5 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

25 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...LACKLUSTER LOWELL LUMBERING WESTWARD... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL SOON... As of 5:00 AM HST Fri Sep 25 the center of Lowell was located near 21.6, -129.2 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

25 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...LOWELL EXPECTED TO DEGENERATE INTO A REMNANT LOW ON FRIDAY... As of 11:00 PM HST Thu Sep 24 the center of Lowell was located near 21.6, -128.0 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

25 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...LOWELL SLOWLY WEAKENING... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW BY SATURDAY... As of 5:00 PM HST Thu Sep 24 the center of Lowell was located near 21.8, -127.0 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

24 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...LOWELL HOLDING STEADY IN STRENGTH FOR NOW BUT FORECAST TO WEAKEN... As of 11:00 AM HST Thu Sep 24 the center of Lowell was located near 21.7, -125.8 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

24 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...LOWLY LOWELL LOOKS ABOUT THE SAME... ...FORECAST TO SLOWLY WEAKEN... As of 5:00 AM HST Thu Sep 24 the center of Lowell was located near 21.5, -124.9 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

24 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...LOWELL GRADUALLY MOVING OVER COOLER WATERS... As of 11:00 PM HST Wed Sep 23 the center of Lowell was located near 21.2, -123.7 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

24 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...LOWELL EXPECTED TO TURN WESTWARD VERY SOON... As of 5:00 PM HST Wed Sep 23 the center of Lowell was located near 21.0, -122.7 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

23 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...LOWELL EXPECTED TO TURN WESTWARD THIS EVENING... As of 11:00 AM HST Wed Sep 23 the center of Lowell was located near 20.7, -122.1 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

23 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC No description available

23 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...LOWELL'S WINDS STRENGTHEN... As of 11:00 PM HST Tue Sep 22 the center of Lowell was located near 19.8, -119.9 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

23 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...LOWELL MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD WITH NO CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Sep 22 the center of Lowell was located near 19.4, -119.1 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

22 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...POORLY ORGANIZED LOWELL MOVING AWAY FROM CLARION ISLAND... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Sep 22 the center of Lowell was located near 19.2, -117.9 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

22 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...LOWELL STRENGTHENS SLIGHTLY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Tue Sep 22 the center of Lowell was located near 18.4, -116.6 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

22 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...LOWELL MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 2:00 AM PDT Tue Sep 22 the center of Lowell was located near 18.0, -115.6 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

22 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...LOWELL HEADING DUE WEST OVER THE OPEN EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 9:00 PM MDT Mon Sep 21 the center of Lowell was located near 17.7, -114.5 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

21 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION BECOMES TROPICAL STORM LOWELL... As of 3:00 PM MDT Mon Sep 21 the center of Lowell was located near 17.4, -113.6 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

21 Sep 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD ACROSS THE OPEN EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 9:00 AM MDT Mon Sep 21 the center of Seventeen-E was located near 17.0, -112.0 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

21 Sep 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...STRUNG OUT DEPRESSION NO STRONGER... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Sep 21 the center of Seventeen-E was located near 16.6, -110.8 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

21 Sep 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD EXPECTED TO STRENGTHEN SOON... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sun Sep 20 the center of Seventeen-E was located near 16.1, -109.3 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

20 Sep 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS A SEVERAL HUNDRED MILES SOUTH OF BAJA CALIFORNIA... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sun Sep 20 the center of Seventeen-E was located near 15.8, -109.1 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:10 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
26 Sep 2020 - 05:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour