NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
27 Nov 2021 - 12:32 EST
27 Nov 2021 - 17:32 UTC

Tropical Storm Odalys at 18.3°N - 122.9°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2020 Storms »

3 Nov 2020 - 5 Nov 2020


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

5 Nov 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...ODALYS DECOUPLING FROM ITS CONVECTION... ...WEAKENING EXPECTED TO COMMENCE SHORTLY... As of 7:00 AM PST Thu Nov 5 the center of Odalys was located near 18.3, -122.9 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

6 Nov 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...ODALYS BECOMES A REMNANT LOW.. ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 7:00 PM PST Thu Nov 5 the center of Odalys was located near 18.6, -124.3 with movement W at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

5 Nov 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...ODALYS WEAKENING AND EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW TONIGHT OR TOMORROW... As of 1:00 PM PST Thu Nov 5 the center of Odalys was located near 18.5, -123.6 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

5 Nov 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...ODALYS DECOUPLING FROM ITS CONVECTION... ...WEAKENING EXPECTED TO COMMENCE SHORTLY... As of 7:00 AM PST Thu Nov 5 the center of Odalys was located near 18.3, -122.9 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

5 Nov 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...ODALYS A LITTLE STRONGER BUT EXPECTED TO START WEAKENING LATER THIS MORNING... As of 1:00 AM PST Thu Nov 5 the center of Odalys was located near 18.1, -122.3 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

5 Nov 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...ODALYS EXPECTED TO BEGIN WEAKENING OVERNIGHT... ...FORECAST TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW BY FRIDAY... As of 7:00 PM PST Wed Nov 4 the center of Odalys was located near 18.1, -121.7 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

4 Nov 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...ODALYS A LITTLE STRONGER... ...NOT EXPECTED TO LAST LONG... As of 1:00 PM PST Wed Nov 4 the center of Odalys was located near 17.7, -120.7 with movement NW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

4 Nov 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...ODALYS MOVING NORTHWEST AWAY FROM LAND OVER THE EAST PACIFIC... As of 7:00 AM PST Wed Nov 4 the center of Odalys was located near 16.9, -119.2 with movement NW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Nov 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...ODALYS CHANGES LITTLE OVERNIGHT... As of 2:00 AM PDT Wed Nov 4 the center of Odalys was located near 15.6, -118.5 with movement NW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Nov 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...ODALYS COULD STRENGTHEN A LITTLE OVERNIGHT... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Nov 3 the center of Odalys was located near 14.9, -117.2 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Nov 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM ODALYS FORMS WELL SOUTH-SOUTHWEST OF THE SOUTHERN TIP OF BAJA CALIFORNIA... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Nov 3 the center of Odalys was located near 14.1, -116.1 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
12 Jan 2021 - 16:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour