NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
14 Jun 2024 - 18:15 EDT
14 Jun 2024 - 22:15 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Arlene at 23.7°N - 84.7°W

Gulf of Mexico

Last observation: 04 Jun 2023 - 04:50 UTC

« 2023 Storms »

1 Jun 2023 - 3 Jun 2023


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

3 Jun 2023 - 21:00 UTC ...ARLENE NOW A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 5:00 PM EDT Sat Jun 3 the center of Arlene was located near 23.7, -84.7 with movement SSE at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

3 Jun 2023 - 15:00 UTC ...ARLENE WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... As of 10:00 AM CDT Sat Jun 3 the center of Arlene was located near 24.2, -85.1 with movement SSE at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Jun 2023 - 9:00 UTC ...ARLENE LIKELY TO WEAKEN TODAY... As of 4:00 AM CDT Sat Jun 3 the center of Arlene was located near 24.5, -85.5 with movement SSE at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Jun 2023 - 3:00 UTC ...ARLENE STILL A TROPICAL STORM... ...FORECAST TO WEAKEN ON SATURDAY... As of 10:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 2 the center of Arlene was located near 25.4, -85.5 with movement SSE at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

2 Jun 2023 - 21:00 UTC ...ARLENE MOVING SOUTH-SOUTHEASTWARD OVER THE GULF OF MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 2 the center of Arlene was located near 26.4, -85.8 with movement SSE at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

2 Jun 2023 - 18:00 UTC ...AIR FORCE HURRICANE HUNTERS INDICATE DEPRESSION HAS STRENGTHENED INTO TROPICAL STORM ARLENE... As of 1:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 2 the center of Arlene was located near 26.7, -86.2 with movement S at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

2 Jun 2023 - 15:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION MOVING SLOWLY SOUTHWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 10:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 2 the center of Two was located near 26.7, -86.3 with movement S at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

2 Jun 2023 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION CONTINUES TO MOVE SLOWLY SOUTHWARD WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 4:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 2 the center of Two was located near 27.0, -86.5 with movement S at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

2 Jun 2023 - 3:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION MOVING SLOWLY SOUTHWARD... ...EXPECTED TO REMAIN OFFSHORE AND BE SHORT-LIVED... As of 10:00 PM CDT Thu Jun 1 the center of Two was located near 27.5, -86.5 with movement S at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

1 Jun 2023 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS IN THE NORTHEASTERN GULF OF MEXICO... ...EXPECTED TO REMAIN OFFSHORE AND BE SHORT-LIVED... As of 4:00 PM CDT Thu Jun 1 the center of Two was located near 28.0, -86.6 with movement WNW at 2 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Arlene at 23.7°N - 84.7°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
4 Jun 2023 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent over GeoColor
4 Jun 2023 - 04:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Night Cloud Micro Combo

Day: show phase of cloud tops; night: distinguish clouds from fog
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Air Mass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
4 Jun 2023 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour