NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
6 Dec 2022 - 09:21 EST
6 Dec 2022 - 14:21 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Teresa at 34.4°N - 64.3°W

Last observation: 26 Sep 2021 - 04:56 UTC

North Atlantic Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

24 Sep 2021 - 25 Sep 2021

Approximately 700 miles from the U.S. east coast


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

25 Sep 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...TERESA DEGENERATES INTO A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE FINAL ADVISORY... As of 5:00 PM AST Sat Sep 25 the center of Teresa was located near 34.4, -64.3 with movement E at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1010 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

25 Sep 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...TERESA WEAKENS TO A SUBTROPICAL DEPRESSION... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW BY TONIGHT... As of 11:00 AM AST Sat Sep 25 the center of Teresa was located near 34.3, -65.0 with movement Stationary. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

25 Sep 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...TERESA REMAINS POORLY ORGANIZED... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW BY TONIGHT... As of 5:00 AM AST Sat Sep 25 the center of Teresa was located near 34.5, -65.5 with movement WNW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

25 Sep 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...TERESA LIKELY TO BE SHORT-LIVED... As of 11:00 PM AST Fri Sep 24 the center of Teresa was located near 34.3, -65.4 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

24 Sep 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...SUBTROPICAL STORM TERESA FORMS NORTH OF BERMUDA... As of 5:00 PM AST Fri Sep 24 the center of Teresa was located near 34.5, -64.5 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Teresa at 34.4°N - 64.3°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
26 Sep 2021 - 04:56 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
26 Sep 2021 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour