NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
6 Dec 2022 - 09:24 EST
6 Dec 2022 - 14:24 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Howard at 24.1°N - 122.3°W

Last observation: 11 Aug 2022 - 10:46 UTC

North Pacific Ocean

« 2022 Storms »

6 Aug 2022 - 11 Aug 2022


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

11 Aug 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...HOWARD NOW POST-TROPICAL... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Wed Aug 10 the center of Howard was located near 24.1, -122.3 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

10 Aug 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...HOWARD FORECAST TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL TONIGHT... As of 2:00 PM PDT Wed Aug 10 the center of Howard was located near 23.9, -121.3 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

10 Aug 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...HOWARD FORECAST TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL WITHIN A DAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Wed Aug 10 the center of Howard was located near 23.7, -120.2 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

10 Aug 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...HOWARD CONTINUES TO WEAKEN... As of 2:00 AM PDT Wed Aug 10 the center of Howard was located near 23.5, -119.2 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

10 Aug 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...HOWARD WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL STORM... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 9 the center of Howard was located near 23.1, -118.4 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

9 Aug 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...HOWARD WEAKENING... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 9 the center of Howard was located near 22.5, -117.7 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 989 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

9 Aug 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...HOWARD EXPECTED TO WEAKEN... As of 8:00 AM PDT Tue Aug 9 the center of Howard was located near 22.0, -116.9 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 983 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

9 Aug 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...HURRICANE HOWARD HEADING FOR COOLER WATERS... As of 2:00 AM PDT Tue Aug 9 the center of Howard was located near 21.6, -116.1 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

9 Aug 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...HOWARD HOLDING STEADY IN STRENGTH... As of 8:00 PM PDT Mon Aug 8 the center of Howard was located near 21.2, -115.2 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

8 Aug 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...HOWARD RAPIDLY INTENSIFIES INTO THE SEVENTH HURRICANE OF THE EASTERN NORTH PACIFIC SEASON... As of 3:00 PM MDT Mon Aug 8 the center of Howard was located near 20.6, -114.4 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

8 Aug 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...HOWARD CONTINUES TO STRENGTHEN... ...NOW FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE LATER TODAY... As of 9:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 8 the center of Howard was located near 20.1, -113.4 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

8 Aug 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...HOWARD STRENGTHENS... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 8 the center of Howard was located near 19.2, -112.6 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

8 Aug 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...HOWARD BRINGS TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS TO SOCORRO ISLAND AS IT HEADS NORTHWESTWARD... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sun Aug 7 the center of Howard was located near 18.4, -111.7 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Aug 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION BECOMES TROPICAL STORM HOWARD... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sun Aug 7 the center of Howard was located near 17.6, -110.7 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Aug 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRUGGLING BUT STILL FORECAST TO BECOME A TROPICAL STORM SOON... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sun Aug 7 the center of Nine-E was located near 16.8, -109.9 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

7 Aug 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION FORECAST TO BECOME A TROPICAL STORM LATER TODAY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sun Aug 7 the center of Nine-E was located near 16.3, -109.1 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

7 Aug 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...SYSTEM REMAINS A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... ...STILL EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL STORM LATER TONIGHT... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sat Aug 6 the center of Nine-E was located near 15.7, -107.9 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

6 Aug 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION MOVING NORTHWESTWARD... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL STORM LATER TONIGHT... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sat Aug 6 the center of Nine-E was located near 15.0, -106.8 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

6 Aug 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS IN THE EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 10:00 AM CDT Sat Aug 6 the center of Nine-E was located near 14.3, -105.7 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Howard at 24.1°N - 122.3°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
11 Aug 2022 - 10:46 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
11 Aug 2022 - 10:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour