NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
1 Dec 2021 - 07:11 EST
1 Dec 2021 - 12:11 UTC

Juliette at 24.4°N - 129.5°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2019 Storms »

1 Sep 2019 - 7 Sep 2019


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

7 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...JULIETTE DEGENERATES INTO A POST-TROPICAL CYCLONE... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 11:00 AM HST Sat Sep 7 the center of Juliette was located near 24.4, -129.5 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

7 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...JULIETTE LIKELY TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW LATER TODAY... As of 5:00 AM HST Sat Sep 7 the center of Juliette was located near 24.2, -128.4 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

7 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...JULIETTE FORECAST TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL ON SATURDAY... As of 11:00 PM HST Fri Sep 6 the center of Juliette was located near 23.8, -127.1 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

7 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...JULIETTE SLOWLY WEAKENING... As of 5:00 PM HST Fri Sep 6 the center of Juliette was located near 23.7, -126.0 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 997 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

6 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...JULIETTE WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL STORM... ...ADDITIONAL WEAKENING EXPECTED OVER THE NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS... As of 11:00 AM HST Fri Sep 6 the center of Juliette was located near 23.4, -124.9 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 992 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

6 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...JULIETTE SHOULD CONTINUE TO GRADUALLY WEAKEN DURING THE NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS... As of 5:00 AM HST Fri Sep 6 the center of Juliette was located near 22.8, -123.4 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

6 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...JULIETTE ON THE DECLINE... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A TROPICAL STORM ON FRIDAY... As of 11:00 PM HST Thu Sep 5 the center of Juliette was located near 22.4, -122.7 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 984 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

6 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...JULIETTE MAINTAINING ITS INTENSITY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Thu Sep 5 the center of Juliette was located near 21.8, -121.8 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 976 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

5 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...JULIETTE FINALLY RESUMES WEAKENING... As of 2:00 PM PDT Thu Sep 5 the center of Juliette was located near 21.3, -120.9 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

5 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...JULIETTE STILL MAINTAINING ITS STRENGTH... ...WEAKENING IS EXPECTED TO RESUME LATER TODAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Thu Sep 5 the center of Juliette was located near 20.6, -119.9 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 976 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

5 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...JULIETTE HEADING NORTHWESTWARD NO CHANGE IN STRENGTH... ...WEAKENING IS EXPECTED TO RESUME TODAY... As of 2:00 AM PDT Thu Sep 5 the center of Juliette was located near 20.2, -119.1 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 976 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

5 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...JULIETTE EXPECTED TO STEADILY WEAKEN DURING THE NEXT FEW DAYS... As of 8:00 PM PDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Juliette was located near 19.8, -118.5 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 976 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...JULIETTE HEADING TOWARD COOLER WATERS... As of 2:00 PM PDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Juliette was located near 19.4, -117.8 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 973 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...JULIETTE WEAKENING OVER THE PACIFIC FAR FROM ANY LAND AREAS... As of 8:00 AM PDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Juliette was located near 19.5, -117.1 with movement WNW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 972 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...JULIETTE CONTINUES TO WEAKEN OVER THE OPEN OCEAN... As of 2:00 AM PDT Wed Sep 4 the center of Juliette was located near 19.1, -116.4 with movement WNW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 966 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 110 mph.

4 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...JULIETTE WEAKENS SOME... ...MOVING AWAY FROM CLARION ISLAND... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Juliette was located near 19.0, -116.2 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 958 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 120 mph.

3 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...JULIETTE MOVING AWAY FROM CLARION ISLAND... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Juliette was located near 18.6, -115.6 with movement WNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 953 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 125 mph.

3 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...JULIETTE BRINGS A 130-MPH WIND GUST TO CLARION ISLAND... As of 8:00 AM PDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Juliette was located near 18.4, -115.0 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 953 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 125 mph.

3 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...CATEGORY 3 HURRICANE JULIETTE BEARING DOWN ON CLARION ISLAND... As of 3:00 AM MDT Tue Sep 3 the center of Juliette was located near 18.2, -114.5 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 963 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 120 mph.

2 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...JULIETTE WILL LIKELY BECOME A HURRICANE LATER TODAY... As of 9:00 AM MDT Mon Sep 2 the center of Juliette was located near 16.7, -112.6 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

2 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...JULIETTE STRENGTHENS... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE LATER TODAY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Sep 2 the center of Juliette was located near 16.2, -111.8 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 997 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

2 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...JULIETTE EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE ON MONDAY... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sun Sep 1 the center of Juliette was located near 15.4, -110.6 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

1 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...JULIETTE FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE ON MONDAY... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sun Sep 1 the center of Juliette was located near 14.9, -109.7 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

1 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...JULIETTE STRENGTHENING QUICKLY WELL SOUTHWEST OF MEXICO... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 1 the center of Juliette was located near 14.3, -108.8 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

1 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL STORM FORMS WELL TO THE SOUTHWEST OF MEXICO... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE ON MONDAY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 1 the center of Juliette was located near 13.2, -107.6 with movement NW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
Sandwich RGB

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
8 Sep 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour