NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
23 Oct 2019 - 17:00 EDT
23 Oct 2019 - 21:00 UTC

Post-Tropical Cyclone Lorena at 28.8°N - 111.5°W

Mexico


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

22 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...LORENA DEGENERATES INTO A BROAD AREA OF LOW PRESSURE... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 22 the center of Lorena was located near 28.8, -111.5 with movement N at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

22 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...LORENA WEAKENS TO A DEPRESSION NEAR THE COAST OF WESTERN MAINLAND MEXICO... ...EXPECTED TO MOVE INLAND SOON AND RAPIDLY WEAKEN... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 22 the center of Lorena was located near 28.3, -111.5 with movement N at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

22 Sep 2019 - 6:00 UTC ...POORLY DEFINED CENTER OF LORENA EXPECTED TO REACH THE COAST OF MAINLAND MEXICO SOON... As of 12:00 AM MDT Sun Sep 22 the center of Lorena was located near 27.9, -111.1 with movement N at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

22 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...CENTER OF LORENA EXPECTED TO REACH THE COAST OF MAINLAND MEXICO DURING THE NEXT SEVERAL HOURS... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sat Sep 21 the center of Lorena was located near 27.6, -111.2 with movement N at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

22 Sep 2019 - 0:00 UTC ...LORENA MOVING NORTHWARD THROUGH THE GULF OF CALIFORNIA... ...HEADING FOR NORTHWESTERN MEXICO AS A TROPICAL STORM... As of 6:00 PM MDT Sat Sep 21 the center of Lorena was located near 27.1, -111.0 with movement N at 11 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...CORE OF LORENA DID NOT SURVIVE THE HIGH TERRAIN OF THE SOUTHERN BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... ...HEADING FOR NORTHWESTERN MEXICO AS A TROPICAL STORM... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sat Sep 21 the center of Lorena was located near 26.7, -111.1 with movement N at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 18:00 UTC ...HURRICANE LORENA MOVING NORTHWARD OVER THE GULF OF CALIFORNIA... ...AIR FORCE RECONNAISSANCE PLANE ENROUTE TO CHECK LORENA... As of 12:00 PM MDT Sat Sep 21 the center of Lorena was located near 26.1, -110.8 with movement N at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...HURRICANE LORENA MOVING NORTHWARD OVER THE GULF OF CALIFORNIA... As of 9:00 AM MDT Sat Sep 21 the center of Lorena was located near 25.6, -110.6 with movement N at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 12:00 UTC ...HURRICANE LORENA HUGGING THE EAST COAST OF THE BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... As of 6:00 AM MDT Sat Sep 21 the center of Lorena was located near 25.0, -110.5 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...HURRICANE LORENA BACK OVER THE GULF OF CALIFORNIA... ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING ISSUED FOR PORTIONS OF MAINLAND MEXICO... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sat Sep 21 the center of Lorena was located near 24.6, -110.3 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 6:00 UTC ...CENTER OF HURRICANE LORENA LOCATED INLAND OVER SOUTHEASTERN BAJA CALIFORNIA SUR MEXICO NEAR LA VENTANA... As of 12:00 AM MDT Sat Sep 21 the center of Lorena was located near 24.0, -110.1 with movement NNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 4:35 UTC ...LORENA MAKES LANDFALL NEAR LA VENTANA MEXICO IN SOUTHEASTERN BAJA CALIFORNIA SUR... As of 10:35 PM MDT Fri Sep 20 the center of Lorena was located near 24.0, -110.0 with movement NNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...EYE OF HURRICANE LORENA NEAR THE EAST COAST OF BAJA CALIFORNIA DEL SUR... ...NEW WARNINGS AND WATCHES ISSUED FOR MEXICO... As of 9:00 PM MDT Fri Sep 20 the center of Lorena was located near 24.0, -109.7 with movement NNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 80 mph.

21 Sep 2019 - 0:00 UTC ...EYE OF HURRICANE LORENA NEAR THE SOUTHERN PORTION OF THE BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... ...FUTURE TRACK OF THE HURRICANE IS HIGHLY UNCERTAIN... As of 6:00 PM MDT Fri Sep 20 the center of Lorena was located near 23.6, -109.5 with movement NW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

20 Sep 2019 - 18:00 UTC ...HURRICANE LORENA VERY NEAR THE SOUTHERN PORTION OF THE BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... ...HURRICANE CONDITIONS SHOULD BEGIN SOON... As of 12:00 PM MDT Fri Sep 20 the center of Lorena was located near 22.9, -109.4 with movement W at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

20 Sep 2019 - 12:00 UTC ...CORE OF HURRICANE LORENA APPROACHING THE SOUTHERN TIP OF THE BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... As of 6:00 AM MDT Fri Sep 20 the center of Lorena was located near 22.7, -109.0 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 989 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

20 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...LORENA BECOMES A HURRICANE... As of 3:00 AM MDT Fri Sep 20 the center of Lorena was located near 22.3, -108.5 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 989 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

20 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...LORENA MAKES EXPECTED WEST-NORTHWESTWARD TURN TOWARD THE SOUTHERN TIP OF THE BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... ...NEAR HURRICANE STRENGTH... As of 3:00 AM MDT Fri Sep 20 the center of Lorena was located near 22.3, -108.5 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

20 Sep 2019 - 6:00 UTC ...LORENA MOVING TOWARD THE SOUTHERN TIP OF THE BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... As of 12:00 AM MDT Fri Sep 20 the center of Lorena was located near 22.4, -108.3 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 997 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

20 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...LORENA MOVING TOWARD THE SOUTHERN BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA WITH LITTLE CHANGE IN STRENGTH... ...NEW WARNINGS AND WATCHES ISSUED... As of 9:00 PM MDT Thu Sep 19 the center of Lorena was located near 22.3, -107.7 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

20 Sep 2019 - 0:00 UTC ...CENTER OF LORENA NOW MOVING AWAY FROM THE ISLAS MARIAS... As of 6:00 PM MDT Thu Sep 19 the center of Lorena was located near 21.9, -107.3 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

19 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS OCCURING IN THE ISLAS MARIAS... ...HURRICANE WARNING ISSUED FOR THE SOUTHERN PORTION OF THE BAJA CALIFORNIA PENINSULA... As of 3:00 PM MDT Thu Sep 19 the center of Lorena was located near 21.6, -107.0 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

19 Sep 2019 - 18:00 UTC ...CENTER OF LORENA MOVING FARTHER OFFSHORE THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... ...HEAVY RAINS CONTINUE ALONG THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 1:00 PM CDT Thu Sep 19 the center of Lorena was located near 20.9, -106.5 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

19 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...CENTER OF LORENA MOVES OFFSHORE JUST WEST OF CABO CORRIENTES... ...HEAVY RAINS AND STRONG WINDS CONTINUE ALONG THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 19 the center of Lorena was located near 20.5, -105.9 with movement NW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 994 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

19 Sep 2019 - 12:00 UTC ...CENTER OF HURRICANE LORENA CONTINUES TO MOVE NORTH-NORTHWESTWARD ALONG THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... ...STRONG WINDS AND HEAVY RAINS SPREADING NORTHWARD... As of 7:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 19 the center of Lorena was located near 20.2, -105.4 with movement NNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

19 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...CENTER OF HURRICANE LORENA CONTINUES TO HUG THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... ...STRONG WINDS AND HEAVY RAINS SPREADING NORTHWARD... As of 4:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 19 the center of Lorena was located near 19.6, -105.0 with movement NNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

19 Sep 2019 - 6:00 UTC ...LORENA CONTINUES TO HUG THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... ...STRONG WINDS AND HEAVY RAINS SPREADING NORTHWARD... As of 1:00 AM CDT Thu Sep 19 the center of Lorena was located near 19.3, -104.9 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

19 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...LORENA BECOMES A HURRICANE JUST OFFSHORE THE COAST OF COLIMA... ...STRONG WINDS AND HEAVY RAINS SPREADING ONSHORE... As of 10:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 18 the center of Lorena was located near 18.7, -104.7 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

19 Sep 2019 - 0:00 UTC ...LORENA'S CENTER OBLIQUELY APPROACHING THE COASTS OF COLIMA AND SOUTHERN JALISCO... ...RAINBANDS CONTINUE TO SPREAD ONSHORE... As of 7:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 18 the center of Lorena was located near 18.3, -104.3 with movement NW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

18 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...CENTER OF LORENA TO PASS VERY CLOSE THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO TONIGHT AND THURSDAY.. ...HEAVY RAINS SPREADING ONSHORE ALONG MUCH OF THE SOUTHERN AND SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 18 the center of Lorena was located near 17.9, -104.4 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

18 Sep 2019 - 18:00 UTC ...LORENA CONTINUES TO STRENGTHEN AS IT APPROACHES THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 1:00 PM CDT Wed Sep 18 the center of Lorena was located near 17.6, -104.0 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

18 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...HURRICANE WARNING ISSUED FOR THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Wed Sep 18 the center of Lorena was located near 17.4, -103.5 with movement NW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 997 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

18 Sep 2019 - 12:00 UTC ...HURRICANE WATCH ISSUED FOR THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 7:00 AM CDT Wed Sep 18 the center of Lorena was located near 16.3, -103.1 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

18 Sep 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...LORENA A LITTLE STRONGER... ...MOVING NORTHWESTWARD TOWARD THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 4:00 AM CDT Wed Sep 18 the center of Lorena was located near 16.1, -103.0 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

18 Sep 2019 - 6:00 UTC ...LORENA MOVING NORTHWESTWARD TOWARD THE SOUTHWESTERN COAST OF MEXICO... As of 1:00 AM CDT Wed Sep 18 the center of Lorena was located near 15.6, -102.6 with movement NW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

18 Sep 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...LORENA CHANGES LITTLE IN STRENGTH WHILE CONTINUING NORTHWESTWARD... As of 10:00 PM CDT Tue Sep 17 the center of Lorena was located near 15.1, -102.1 with movement NW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

18 Sep 2019 - 0:00 UTC ...LORENA MOVING NORTHWESTWARD SOUTH OF THE COAST OF MEXICO... As of 7:00 PM CDT Tue Sep 17 the center of Lorena was located near 14.8, -101.6 with movement NW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

17 Sep 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...LORENA CONTINUES TO STRENGTHEN... ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING ISSUED FOR THE SOUTHWEST COAST OF MEXICO... As of 4:00 PM CDT Tue Sep 17 the center of Lorena was located near 14.6, -101.3 with movement NW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

17 Sep 2019 - 18:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM LORENA A LITTLE STRONGER... ...FORECAST TO MOVE NEAR THE SOUTHWEST COAST OF MEXICO BY THURSDAY... As of 1:00 PM CDT Tue Sep 17 the center of Lorena was located near 13.9, -100.4 with movement NW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

17 Sep 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM LORENA FORMS JUST SOUTH OF MEXICO... ...TROPICAL STORM WATCHES ISSUED FOR THE COAST OF MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Tue Sep 17 the center of Lorena was located near 13.7, -100.0 with movement NW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

Images updated every 10 minutes.

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
22 Sep 2019 - 22:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Nighttime Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
22 Sep 2019 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour