NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
8 Dec 2021 - 19:47 EST
9 Dec 2021 - 00:47 UTC

Octave at 11.6°N - 125.7°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2019 Storms »

18 Oct 2019 - 19 Oct 2019


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

19 Oct 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...OCTAVE BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sat Oct 19 the center of Octave was located near 11.6, -125.7 with movement ENE at 2 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

19 Oct 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...OCTAVE EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW LATER TODAY... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sat Oct 19 the center of Octave was located near 11.5, -125.9 with movement ENE at 2 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

19 Oct 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...OCTAVE WEAKENS TO A DEPRESSION... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sat Oct 19 the center of Octave was located near 11.5, -126.4 with movement NE at 2 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

19 Oct 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...OCTAVE STILL A TROPICAL STORM... As of 8:00 PM PDT Fri Oct 18 the center of Octave was located near 11.5, -126.6 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

18 Oct 2019 - 21:00 UTC ...OCTAVE EXPECTED TO BECOME REMNANT LOW TONIGHT OR ON SATURDAY... As of 2:00 PM PDT Fri Oct 18 the center of Octave was located near 11.0, -126.6 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

18 Oct 2019 - 15:00 UTC ...OCTAVE MOVING SLOWLY NORTHWARD... ...FORECAST TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW IN A COUPLE OF DAYS... As of 8:00 AM PDT Fri Oct 18 the center of Octave was located near 10.6, -126.6 with movement N at 2 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

18 Oct 2019 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM OCTAVE STRENGTHENS A LITTLE AS IT BEGINS TO MEANDER... As of 2:00 AM PDT Fri Oct 18 the center of Octave was located near 9.9, -127.1 with movement W at 1 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

18 Oct 2019 - 3:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM OCTAVE FORMS... ...FORECAST TO MEANDER FOR DAYS OVER THE EAST PACIFIC... As of 8:00 PM PDT Thu Oct 17 the center of Octave was located near 9.8, -127.2 with movement W at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multispectral blend used to add IR Band 13 to Visual Band 3
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
20 Oct 2019 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
20 Oct 2019 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour