NOAA Center for Satellite Applications and Research banner

6 STAR Scientists Honored with Dept. of Commerce 2009 Bronze Medal Honor Awards

Lidia Cucurull, NESDIS DAA Charlie Baker, Pablo Clemente-Colón, and Thomas M. Smith

Lidia Cucurull, NESDIS DAA Charlie Baker, Pablo Clemente-Colón, and Thomas M. Smith

27 April 2010 - On Tuesday, 27 April, at the NOAA Honor Awards Ceremony in Silver Spring, MD, 6 STAR scientists received Bronze Medals honoring their work on 5 different projects. Dr. Jane Lubchenco, NOAA's new administrator, addressed the assembly, and praised the work of the award winners. Five different NESDIS projects were honored; STAR scientists participated in four of these projects.

STAR scientists honored with Bronze Medals included: Larry Flynn, Lidia Cucurull, Pablo Clemente-Colón, Thomas M. Smith, Mark DeMaria, and John Knaff.

Click any photo below to view a larger version.


Larry Flynn's Award Group; click to view enlargement
Larry Flynn, second from right


  • Donna McNamara
  • Lawrence Flynn
  • Renee Smith Dearring
  • Dong Han

For exemplary engineering support and outstanding efforts in recovering the NOAA-18 SBUV instrument.

Lydia Cucurull's Award Group
Lidia Cucurull, second from right


  • Larry Ledlow Jr.
  • Richard Fulton
  • Kirk Liang
  • Lawrence James
  • Lidia Cucurull
  • Margarida Yuan
  • Lance Seman
  • Gregg Frostrom
  • Gregory Johnson
  • Linda J. Williams

For transitioning the COSMIC ground system from research to operations, enabling a revolution in weather and climate measurements.

Thomas Smith's Award Group
Thomas M. Smith, fourth from left


  • Huai-Min Zhang
  • Richard W. Reynolds
  • Rick Lumpkin
  • Thomas M. Smith
  • Michael Johnson
  • Krisa Arzayus

For developing the successful research-to-operations transition of Climate Sea Surface Temperature Observing System Design, Implementation and Performance Monitoring

Pablo Clemente-Colon Award Group
Pablo Clemente-Colón first on the left


  • Albert E. Theberge
  • Robert W. Embley
  • Dwayne Meadows
  • Joseph Uravitch
  • Lt. Patrick L. Murphy
  • Rick Lumpkin
  • Michael Johnson
  • Hugh D. Cobb III
  • Pablo Clemente-Colón
  • Teresa A. McTigue

For exceptional service and editors and authors of the NOAA / Smithsonian Sant Ocean Hall companion publication, "Hidden Depths: Atlas of the Oceans

John Knaff - Mark DeMaria Award Group - Mark and John not pictured
Mark DeMaria & John Knaff did not attend the ceremony
photo: John Knaffphoto: Mark DeMaria


  • Mark DeMaria
  • John Knaff
  • Alison Krautkramer
  • Chris Lauer
  • Chris Sisko
  • Richard Knabb
  • Chris Juckins
  • Timothy Schott
  • Michael Mainelli
  • Edward Rappaport

For developing, implementing and conducting outreach for new National Hurricane Center Tropical Cyclone Surface Wind Speed Probability products.