NOAA Center for Satellite Applications and Research banner

photo: Dept. of Commerce Bronze Medal AwardSTAR Scientists Honored with Dept. of Commerce Bronze Medals

23 January 2014 - On Thursday, January 23, Acting Under Secretary Dr. Kathy Sullivan announced the names of this year's Bronze Medal and Distinguished Career awards. The Department of Commerce Bronze Medal is the highest honor award that the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere may bestow. 18 STAR scientists were honored with Bronze Medals and a Distinguished Career Award. The award recipients will be honored at a ceremony on Tuesday, May 20, 2014, at the NOAA Auditorium in Silver Spring, Maryland.

gallery of STAR's 2013 Bronze Medal Award winners

Top row: Shobha Kondragunta, Huan Meng, Michael Chalfant, Ivan Csiszar, Mark Eakin;
Second row: Fred Wu, Jerry Zhan, Andy Heidinger, Mark DeMaria, Jeff Key;
Third row: Marco Vargas, Bob Yu, Tony Reale, Menghua Wang, Larry Flynn.
Fourth row: Don Hillger, Sasha Ignatov. Not pictured: Istvan Laszlo

STAR's 2013 Bronze Medal Honorees

Xiangqian (Fred) Wu, SMCD / SCDAB
Michael Chalfant, SMCD / OPDB

Honored for permanently recovering GOES satellite observations previously canceled during eclipse seasons due to contamination by stray sunlight.

Other honorees include:

  • Hyre Bysal
  • Kevin Ludlum
  • Sam Ming San Chen
  • Alva Barnette

Mark Eakin, SOCD / MECB / CoralReefWatch

Honored for an unprecedented, multidisciplinary assessment that supports science-based decisions on listing 82 coral species under the Endangered Species Act.

Other honorees from the National Marine Fisheries Service include:

  • Jennifer A. Moore
  • Cheryl Scannell
  • Margaret W. Miller
  • Lance W. Smith
  • Elena J. Onaga
  • Russell E. Brainard
  • Gregory A. Piniak
  • J. Paul McElhany
  • Marta F. Nammack

Huan Meng, CoRP / SCSB

Honored for the development and implementation of NOAA's first satellite-based operational snowfall rate product.

Other honorees include:

  • Limin Zhao
  • Banghua Yan
  • Sheldon Kusselson

STAR Suomi NPP EDR Product team members:

  • Ivan Csiszar, SMCD / EMB
  • Andrew Heidinger, CoRP / ASPB
  • Jeff Key, CoRP / ASPB
  • Shobha Kondragunta SMCD / SCDAB
  • Istvan Laszlo, SMCD / EMB
  • Larry Flynn, SMCD / SPB
  • Sasha Ignatov, SOCD / SOSB
  • Tony Reale, SMCD / OPDB
  • Marco Vargas, SMCD / EMB
  • Menghua Wang, SOCD / MECB
  • Yunyue (Bob) Yu, SMCD / EMB
  • Xiwu (Jerry) Zhan, JCSDA
  • Don Hillger, CoRP / RAMMB

Honored for the timely creation and leadership of the team to increase the scientific value of the Suomi satellite environmental data products to meet NOAA users' needs.

Distinguished Career Award

Mark DeMaria
(recently moved to the National Hurricane Center from CoRP / RAMMB)

Honored for research that has led to increased understanding, observational utilization and improved hurricane forecast capabilities.