STAR websites will be offline for scheduled maintenance on Saturday, March 2, 2024 between 3:00 p.m. and 10:00 p.m. (ET). Please contact STAR IT with any related questions or concerns.

NOAA Center for Satellite Applications and Research banner

Nine STAR Scientists Honored with Department of Commerce Bronze Medal

DOC Bronze Medal8 May 2019 - Nine STAR scientists will be honored with the Department of Commerce Bronze Medal at NOAA's Silver Spring headquarters on Tuesday, May 14. The Bronze Medal is awarded for superior performance characterized by outstanding or significant contributions which have increased the efficiency and effectiveness of the operating unit. It is the highest medal awarded by the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere. STAR congratulates and commends our team members for their hard work and excellence.

Matthew Jochum

This team was honored with the Bronze Medal for:

Outstanding leadership in the development of a Secure Ingest capability that leverages an innovative approach using commercial cloud services.

Team members include:

  • Irene Parker
  • Michelle Detommaso
  • Matt Jochum
  • Joseph Mangin
  • Joseph Mani
  • Manan Dalal
  • Robert Hembrook (OCIO)
  • Robert Sears (OCIO)
  • Cameron Shelton (OCIO)

Thomas M. Smith

This team was honored with the Bronze Medal for:

Innovation on sea surface temperature construction methods that enable improved El NiƱo structures and long-term record consistency.

Team members include:

  • Boyin Huang
  • Patricia Viva Banzon
  • Tim Boyer
  • Jay Lawrimore
  • Matthew Menne
  • Thomas M. Smith
  • Russell Vose
  • Huai-Min Zhang

Daniel Lindsey

Daniel Lindsey was honored with the Bronze Medal for:

For providing the First-Light full-disk true-color images from both GOES-16 and 17 ABI, as the primary visualization of NOAA's latest-generation geostationary satellites.

Paul Chang, Ralph Ferraro, Jeff Key, Xiwu Zhan,
Walter Wolf, and Lihang Zhou

This team was honored with the Bronze Medal for:

Developing the operational GCOM-W1 AMSR2 products system.

Team members include:

  • Paul Chang
  • Ralph Ferraro
  • Jeff Key
  • Xiwu "Jerry" Zhan
  • Walter Wolf
  • Limin Zhao
  • Kirk Liang
  • Steve Walters
  • Lihang Zhou
  • Jennifer Clapp