NOAA Center for Satellite Applications and Research banner

Alejandro Egido wins the 2019 NOAA David Johnson Award

Alejandro Egido wins David Johnson Award17 December 2019 - The prestigious and highly competitive Dave Johnson award recognizes innovation and achievement of young professionals in the use of satellite data for operational and environmental applications.

Dr. Egido is being recognized "For developing and demonstrating a novel analytic technique, Fully-Focused Synthetic Aperture Radar altimetry, which dramatically improves the along-track resolution of a new generation of high-rate satellite radar altimeters".

Alejandro has been with the Laboratory for Satellite Altimetry since 2015, and he currently serves as the NOAA Jason Measurement System Engineer. He is employed by Global Science & Technology, Inc. and is a Visiting Assistant Research Scientist at the University of Maryland Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center (ESSIC).

Past David Johnson Award Winners from STAR

  • 2018
    Scott D. Rudlosky
  • 2017
    Dan Lindsey
  • 2015
    Michael J. Pavolonis
  • 2004
    John Knaff
  • 1999
    Fuzhong Weng

The Award will be presented 20 March 2020 during the National Space Club's Robert Goddard Memorial Dinner at the Washington Hilton.