NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
2 Feb 2023 - 21:52 EST
3 Feb 2023 - 02:52 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Alex at 35.5°N - 60.6°W

Last observation: 07 Jun 2022 - 04:51 UTC

North Atlantic Ocean

« 2022 Storms »

2 Jun 2022 - 6 Jun 2022

Approximately 900 miles from the U.S. east coast


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

6 Jun 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...ALEX BECOMES POST-TROPICAL... ...THIS IS THE LAST NHC ADVISORY... As of 5:00 PM AST Mon Jun 6 the center of Alex was located near 35.5, -60.6 with movement ENE at 31 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

6 Jun 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...ALEX LOSING TROPICAL CHARACTERISTICS... As of 2:00 PM AST Mon Jun 6 the center of Alex was located near 34.7, -62.2 with movement ENE at 29 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

6 Jun 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...ALEX BEGINNING TO MOVE AWAY FROM BERMUDA... As of 11:00 AM AST Mon Jun 6 the center of Alex was located near 34.0, -63.8 with movement ENE at 29 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

6 Jun 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS CONTINUING AT BERMUDA AS ALEX PASSES NEARBY... As of 8:00 AM AST Mon Jun 6 the center of Alex was located near 33.8, -65.1 with movement ENE at 28 mph. The minimum central pressure was 992 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

6 Jun 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS AFFECTING BERMUDA AS ALEX CONTINUES MOVING EAST-NORTHEASTWARD... As of 5:00 AM AST Mon Jun 6 the center of Alex was located near 33.5, -66.7 with movement ENE at 28 mph. The minimum central pressure was 989 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

6 Jun 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS HAVE BEGUN ON BERMUDA... As of 2:00 AM AST Mon Jun 6 the center of Alex was located near 32.9, -68.1 with movement ENE at 28 mph. The minimum central pressure was 986 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

6 Jun 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...AIR FORCE RESERVE RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT FINDS ALEX A LITTLE STRONGER... ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS EXPECTED TO BEGIN ON BERMUDA LATER TONIGHT... As of 11:00 PM AST Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 32.5, -69.0 with movement ENE at 28 mph. The minimum central pressure was 988 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

6 Jun 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...RECONNAISSANCE AIRCRAFT INVESTIGATING ALEX AS THE STORM MOVES QUICKLY EAST-NORTHEASTWARD TOWARD BERMUDA... ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS EXPECTED ON BERMUDA STARTING LATER TONIGHT AND MONDAY... As of 8:00 PM EDT Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 31.9, -70.3 with movement ENE at 26 mph. The minimum central pressure was 988 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...ALEX MOVING QUICKLY EAST-NORTHEASTWARD TOWARD BERMUDA... ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS EXPECTED ON BERMUDA STARTING LATE TONIGHT OR EARLY MONDAY... As of 5:00 PM EDT Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 31.5, -71.5 with movement ENE at 28 mph. The minimum central pressure was 991 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT REPORTS ALEX IS A LITTLE STRONGER... ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS EXPECTED ON BERMUDA STARTING LATE TONIGHT OR EARLY MONDAY... As of 2:00 PM EDT Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 30.8, -72.5 with movement ENE at 23 mph. The minimum central pressure was 991 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...ALEX MOVING RAPIDLY EAST-NORTHEASTWARD... ...TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS EXPECTED ON BERMUDA STARTING LATE TONIGHT OR EARLY MONDAY... As of 11:00 AM EDT Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 30.4, -73.9 with movement ENE at 23 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 12:45 UTC ...HURRICANE HUNTER AIRCRAFT FINDS THAT ALEX IS STRONGER... As of 8:45 AM EDT Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 30.0, -74.7 with movement NE at 22 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 60 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...ALEX MOVING QUICKLY NORTHEASTWARD... ...EXPECTED TO MAKE CLOSEST APPROACH TO BERMUDA ON MONDAY AFTERNOON... As of 8:00 AM EDT Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 29.8, -75.0 with movement NE at 22 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM ALEX MOVING NORTHEASTWARD... ...EXPECTED TO MAKE CLOSEST APPROACH TO BERMUDA ON MONDAY AFTERNOON... As of 5:00 AM EDT Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 29.1, -76.3 with movement NE at 22 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE FINALLY BECOMES TROPICAL STORM ALEX... As of 2:00 AM EDT Sun Jun 5 the center of Alex was located near 28.6, -77.5 with movement NE at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE PULLING AWAY FROM FLORIDA AND THE BAHAMAS... As of 11:00 PM EDT Sat Jun 4 the center of One was located near 28.4, -78.2 with movement NE at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

5 Jun 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...FLOODING RAINS AND STRONG WINDS CONTINUE OVER PORTIONS OF THE NORTHWESTERN BAHAMAS... As of 8:00 PM EDT Sat Jun 4 the center of One was located near 28.3, -78.9 with movement NE at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

4 Jun 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...CENTER OF THE DISTURBANCE EMERGES INTO THE ATLANTIC EAST OF FLORIDA... ...FLOODING RAINS AND STRONG WINDS OVER PORTIONS OF THE NORTHWESTERN BAHAMAS... As of 5:00 PM EDT Sat Jun 4 the center of One was located near 27.8, -79.8 with movement NE at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

4 Jun 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...CENTER OF THE DISTURBANCE APPROACHING THE FLORIDA EAST COAST... ...FLOODING RAINS CONTINUE ACROSS PORTIONS OF SOUTH FLORIDA... As of 2:00 PM EDT Sat Jun 4 the center of One was located near 27.3, -80.5 with movement NE at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Jun 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE NOW CROSSING SOUTH FLORIDA... ...FLOODING RAINS OCCURRING ACROSS PORTIONS OF SOUTH FLORIDA... As of 11:00 AM EDT Sat Jun 4 the center of One was located near 26.5, -81.4 with movement NE at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Jun 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...FLOODING RAINS OCCURRING ACROSS PORTIONS OF SOUTH FLORIDA... ...THE DISTURBANCE SHOULD MOVE ACROSS SOUTH FLORIDA TODAY... As of 8:00 AM EDT Sat Jun 4 the center of One was located near 26.0, -82.2 with movement NE at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Jun 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...FLOODING RAINS OCCURRING ACROSS PORTIONS OF SOUTH FLORIDA... As of 5:00 AM EDT Sat Jun 4 the center of One was located near 25.6, -83.1 with movement NE at 18 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Jun 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...INTENSE RAINS STREAMING NORTHWARD ACROSS PORTIONS OF THE FLORIDA KEYS AND SOUTH FLORIDA... As of 2:00 AM EDT Sat Jun 4 the center of One was located near 24.6, -83.6 with movement NE at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Jun 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE CONTINUES TO PRODUCE HEAVY RAINS OVER WESTERN CUBA, THE FLORIDA KEYS, AND SOUTH FLORIDA... As of 11:00 PM EDT Fri Jun 3 the center of One was located near 24.5, -83.7 with movement NE at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Jun 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINS CONTINUE OVER WESTERN CUBA AND SOUTH FLORIDA... ...HURRICANE HUNTERS INVESTIGATING THE SYSTEM... As of 7:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 3 the center of One was located near 23.3, -85.0 with movement NE at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Jun 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE MOVING A LITTLE FASTER TOWARD THE NORTHEAST... ...HEAVY RAINS CONTINUE SPREADING ACROSS WESTERN CUBA AND SOUTHERN FLORIDA... As of 4:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 3 the center of One was located near 23.0, -85.8 with movement NE at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Jun 2022 - 18:00 UTC ...AIRCRAFT DATA INDICATES THE DISTURBANCE HAS CHANGED LITTLE IN ORGANIZATION DURING THE PAST SEVERAL HOURS... ...HEAVY RAINS SPREADING ACROSS WESTERN CUBA AND SOUTHERN FLORIDA... As of 1:00 PM CDT Fri Jun 3 the center of One was located near 22.6, -86.4 with movement NE at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Jun 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE MOVING SLOWLY NORTHEASTWARD OVER THE SOUTHEASTERN GULF OF MEXICO... ...HEAVY RAINS SPREADING ACROSS WESTERN CUBA AND SOUTHERN FLORIDA... As of 10:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 3 the center of One was located near 22.3, -86.8 with movement NE at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Jun 2022 - 12:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE MOVING SLOWLY NORTHEASTWARD OVER THE SOUTHEASTERN GULF OF MEXICO... As of 7:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 3 the center of One was located near 22.4, -86.8 with movement NE at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Jun 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...AIR FORCE RESERVE HURRICANE HUNTERS FIND THAT THE DISTURBANCE IS PRODUCING TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS... ...NEW TROPICAL STORM WARNINGS ISSUED FOR FLORIDA, CUBA, AND THE NORTHWESTERN BAHAMAS... As of 4:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 3 the center of One was located near 22.3, -86.6 with movement NE at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Jun 2022 - 6:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINS COULD PRODUCE FLASH AND URBAN FLOODING ACROSS PORTIONS OF CUBA, THE FLORIDA KEYS, AND SOUTH FLORIDA TODAY AND ON SATURDAY... As of 1:00 AM CDT Fri Jun 3 the center of One was located near 21.9, -86.9 with movement NE at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Jun 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM WARNING ISSUED FOR PORTIONS OF THE FLORIDA PENINSULA AND THE FLORIDA KEYS... As of 10:00 PM CDT Thu Jun 2 the center of One was located near 21.8, -87.4 with movement N at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

3 Jun 2022 - 0:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL TO SPREAD OVER PORTIONS OF CUBA, THE FLORIDA KEYS, AND SOUTHERN FLORIDA ON FRIDAY AND SATURDAY WITH FLOODING POSSIBLE... ...TROPICAL STORM WATCH ISSUED FOR THE NORTHWESTERN BAHAMAS... As of 7:00 PM CDT Thu Jun 2 the center of One was located near 21.5, -87.5 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

2 Jun 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...HEAVY RAINFALL TO SPREAD OVER PORTIONS OF CUBA, THE FLORIDA KEYS, AND SOUTHERN FLORIDA ON FRIDAY AND SATURDAY WITH FLOODING POSSIBLE... As of 4:00 PM CDT Thu Jun 2 the center of One was located near 21.4, -87.5 with movement N at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Alex at 35.5°N - 60.6°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
7 Jun 2022 - 04:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
7 Jun 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
7 Jun 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
7 Jun 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
7 Jun 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
7 Jun 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
7 Jun 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:20 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
7 Jun 2022 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour