NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
1 Dec 2021 - 10:35 EST
1 Dec 2021 - 15:35 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Kyle at 40.0°N - 58.9°W

North Atlantic Ocean

« 2020 Storms »

14 Aug 2020 - 16 Aug 2020

Approximately 1000 miles from the U.S. east coast


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

16 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...KYLE BECOMES EXTRATROPICAL OVER THE NORTH ATLANTIC... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 5:00 AM AST Sun Aug 16 the center of Kyle was located near 40.0, -58.9 with movement E at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

16 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...KYLE EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL SUNDAY MORNING... As of 11:00 PM AST Sat Aug 15 the center of Kyle was located near 40.0, -60.4 with movement ENE at 20 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

15 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...KYLE EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL SOON... As of 5:00 PM AST Sat Aug 15 the center of Kyle was located near 39.4, -63.2 with movement ENE at 22 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

15 Aug 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM KYLE HEADING OUT TO SEA... As of 11:00 AM AST Sat Aug 15 the center of Kyle was located near 39.0, -65.6 with movement ENE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1000 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

15 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM KYLE HEADING TOWARD THE OPEN WATERS OF THE NORTHERN ATLANTIC... As of 5:00 AM AST Sat Aug 15 the center of Kyle was located near 38.7, -68.0 with movement ENE at 21 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1002 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

15 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM KYLE MOVING AWAY FROM THE U.S. MID-ATLANTIC COAST... As of 11:00 PM EDT Fri Aug 14 the center of Kyle was located near 38.3, -70.0 with movement ENE at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

14 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM KYLE FORMS OVER THE NORTHWEST ATLANTIC... ...FORECAST TO MOVE QUICKLY AWAY FROM LAND DURING THE NEXT FEW DAYS... As of 5:00 PM EDT Fri Aug 14 the center of Kyle was located near 37.7, -71.7 with movement ENE at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:30 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
16 Aug 2020 - 20:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour