NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
22 Sep 2020 - 06:51 EDT
22 Sep 2020 - 10:51 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Elida at 24.4°N - 120.2°W

North Pacific Ocean


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

13 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...ELIDA BECOMES A POST-TROPICAL CYCLONE... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 8:00 PM PDT Wed Aug 12 the center of Elida was located near 24.4, -120.2 with movement NW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

12 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC

12 Aug 2020 - 15:00 UTC

12 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...ELIDA CONTINUES TO WEAKEN... As of 2:00 AM PDT Wed Aug 12 the center of Elida was located near 23.0, -117.7 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 988 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

12 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...ELIDA BEGINS TO WEAKEN... As of 8:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 11 the center of Elida was located near 22.5, -116.5 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

11 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...ELIDA EXPECTED TO WEAKEN TONIGHT... As of 2:00 PM PDT Tue Aug 11 the center of Elida was located near 22.1, -115.4 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 975 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

11 Aug 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...ELIDA STRENGTHENS TO A CATEGORY 2 HURRICANE... ...EXPECTED TO RAPIDLY WEAKEN STARTING TONIGHT... As of 9:00 AM MDT Tue Aug 11 the center of Elida was located near 21.3, -113.8 with movement NW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 975 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

11 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...ELIDA STRENGTHENS A LITTLE MORE... As of 3:00 AM MDT Tue Aug 11 the center of Elida was located near 20.7, -113.0 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

11 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...ELIDA CONTINUING TO STRENGTHEN... As of 9:00 PM MDT Mon Aug 10 the center of Elida was located near 20.1, -112.1 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 983 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

10 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...ELIDA BECOMES A HURRICANE... As of 3:00 PM MDT Mon Aug 10 the center of Elida was located near 19.6, -110.9 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

10 Aug 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...ELIDA ON THE CUSP OF BECOMING A HURRICANE... As of 9:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 10 the center of Elida was located near 18.9, -109.8 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

10 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...ELIDA EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE LATER TODAY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Mon Aug 10 the center of Elida was located near 18.3, -108.8 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

10 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...ELIDA QUICKLY STRENGTHENING...EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE SOON... As of 9:00 PM MDT Sun Aug 9 the center of Elida was located near 17.8, -107.4 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 998 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

9 Aug 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...ELIDA EXPECTED TO BECOME A HURRICANE ON MONDAY... As of 3:00 PM MDT Sun Aug 9 the center of Elida was located near 17.0, -106.4 with movement WNW at 15 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

9 Aug 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...ELIDA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN QUICKLY AND BECOME A HURRICANE ON MONDAY... As of 10:00 AM CDT Sun Aug 9 the center of Elida was located near 16.4, -105.4 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

9 Aug 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM ELIDA FORMS SOUTH OF MEXICO... As of 4:00 AM CDT Sun Aug 9 the center of Elida was located near 15.8, -104.1 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

9 Aug 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS TO THE SOUTH OF MEXICO... As of 10:00 PM CDT Sat Aug 8 the center of Nine-E was located near 14.7, -102.6 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

Images updated every 10 minutes.

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
13 Aug 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Nighttime Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
13 Aug 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
13 Aug 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
13 Aug 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
13 Aug 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Images updated every 10 minutes.

Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
13 Aug 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
13 Aug 2020 - 14:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour