NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
28 Sep 2021 - 00:41 EDT
28 Sep 2021 - 04:41 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Jimena at 17.9°N - 140.8°W

North Pacific Ocean

Approximately 1000 miles from Hawaii


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

7 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...JIMENA BECOMES A POST TROPICAL LOW FAR EAST OF HAWAII... As of 5:00 PM HST Fri Aug 6 the center of Jimena was located near 17.9, -140.8 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1009 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

6 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...JIMENA WEAKENS TO A TROPICAL DEPRESSION AS IT ENTERS THE CENTRAL PACIFIC... As of 11:00 AM HST Fri Aug 6 the center of Jimena was located near 17.6, -140.0 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

6 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...JIMENA STILL A TROPICAL STORM... ...EXPECTED TO WEAKEN AS IT CROSSES INTO THE CENTRAL PACIFIC LATER TODAY... As of 5:00 AM HST Fri Aug 6 the center of Jimena was located near 17.5, -139.3 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

6 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...SATELLITE WIND DATA SHOWS JIMENA IS STILL A TROPICAL STORM... As of 11:00 PM HST Thu Aug 5 the center of Jimena was located near 17.2, -138.2 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

6 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...JIMENA NEARING THE CENTRAL PACIFIC... As of 5:00 PM HST Thu Aug 5 the center of Jimena was located near 16.9, -137.8 with movement NW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

5 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...JIMENA EXPECTED TO BECOME A DEPRESSION ON FRIDAY... As of 11:00 AM HST Thu Aug 5 the center of Jimena was located near 16.4, -137.6 with movement NW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

5 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...JIMENA CONTINUES ON A NORTHWESTWARD HEADING... ...NO CHANGE IN STRENGTH... As of 5:00 AM HST Thu Aug 5 the center of Jimena was located near 16.1, -137.2 with movement NW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

5 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION BECOMES TROPICAL STORM JIMENA... As of 11:00 PM HST Wed Aug 4 the center of Jimena was located near 15.5, -136.6 with movement NW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

5 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION COULD BECOME A SHORT-LIVED TROPICAL STORM SOON... As of 5:00 PM HST Wed Aug 4 the center of Nine-E was located near 15.3, -136.2 with movement NW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

4 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION REGENERATES OVER THE SOUTHWESTERN PART OF THE BASIN... ...COULD BECOME A SHORT-LIVED TROPICAL STORM... As of 11:00 AM HST Wed Aug 4 the center of Nine-E was located near 14.9, -135.7 with movement NNW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

1 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION DEGENERATES INTO A REMNANT LOW... As of 11:00 PM HST Sat Jul 31 the center of Nine-E was located near 11.4, -127.5 with movement Stationary. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

1 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...STATIONARY DEPRESSION REMAINS VERY DISORGANIZED... As of 5:00 PM HST Sat Jul 31 the center of Nine-E was located near 11.5, -127.5 with movement Stationary. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

31 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...POORLY DISORGANIZED DEPRESSION WOBBLING WESTWARD... As of 11:00 AM HST Sat Jul 31 the center of Nine-E was located near 11.6, -128.4 with movement W at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

31 Jul 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...DISORGANIZED DEPRESSION DAWDLING WESTWARD... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sat Jul 31 the center of Nine-E was located near 12.1, -127.6 with movement W at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

31 Jul 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION REMAINS POORLY ORGANIZED... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sat Jul 31 the center of Nine-E was located near 12.3, -127.0 with movement W at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

31 Jul 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...POORLY ORGANIZED DEPRESSION MOVING SLOWLY WESTWARD... As of 8:00 PM PDT Fri Jul 30 the center of Nine-E was located near 12.5, -126.2 with movement W at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

30 Jul 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS OVER THE OPEN EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 2:00 PM PDT Fri Jul 30 the center of Nine-E was located near 12.3, -125.8 with movement WSW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
7 Aug 2021 - 10:45 UTC

Last update > 1 hour