NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
8 Dec 2021 - 19:46 EST
9 Dec 2021 - 00:46 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Linda at 20.3°N - 144.0°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2021 Storms »

10 Aug 2021 - 20 Aug 2021

Approximately 800 miles from Hawaii


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

20 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA BECOMES POST-TROPICAL EAST OF HAWAII... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 5:00 AM HST Fri Aug 20 the center of Linda was located near 20.3, -144.0 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

20 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...LINDA BARELY HANGING ON AS A TROPICAL CYCLONE... As of 11:00 PM HST Thu Aug 19 the center of Linda was located near 19.9, -142.5 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

20 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...WEAKENING LINDA ENTERS THE CENTRAL PACIFIC... As of 5:00 PM HST Thu Aug 19 the center of Linda was located near 19.9, -141.1 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

19 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...LINDA BARELY A TROPICAL CYCLONE AS IT CROSSES INTO THE CENTRAL PACIFIC... As of 11:00 AM HST Thu Aug 19 the center of Linda was located near 19.7, -139.5 with movement W at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

19 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA QUICKLY WEAKENING ... As of 5:00 AM HST Thu Aug 19 the center of Linda was located near 19.9, -137.6 with movement W at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 996 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

19 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...LINDA GRADUALLY WEAKENING AS IT MOVES OVER COOLER WATERS... As of 11:00 PM HST Wed Aug 18 the center of Linda was located near 19.7, -136.2 with movement WNW at 17 mph. The minimum central pressure was 983 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

19 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA FINALLY ON A MORE DISTINCT WEAKENING TREND... As of 5:00 PM HST Wed Aug 18 the center of Linda was located near 19.2, -134.7 with movement WNW at 16 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

18 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...LINDA SLIGHTLY WEAKER... As of 11:00 AM HST Wed Aug 18 the center of Linda was located near 18.7, -133.2 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 977 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

18 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA MAINTAINING ITS INTENSITY FOR NOW... As of 5:00 AM HST Wed Aug 18 the center of Linda was located near 18.2, -131.8 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 975 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

18 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...STUBBORN LINDA REFUSES TO WEAKEN... ...STILL A CATEGORY 2 HURRICANE... As of 11:00 PM HST Tue Aug 17 the center of Linda was located near 18.1, -130.7 with movement W at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 975 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

18 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA INTENSIFIES BACK INTO A CATEGORY 2 HURRICANE... As of 5:00 PM HST Tue Aug 17 the center of Linda was located near 17.9, -129.5 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 975 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

17 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...LINDA REMAINS A WELL ORGANIZED HURRICANE... As of 11:00 AM HST Tue Aug 17 the center of Linda was located near 17.6, -128.3 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 980 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

17 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA EXPECTED TO SLOWLY WEAKEN DURING THE NEXT SEVERAL DAYS... As of 5:00 AM HST Tue Aug 17 the center of Linda was located near 17.5, -127.4 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 981 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

17 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...LINDA BEGINS TO WEAKEN AGAIN... As of 11:00 PM HST Mon Aug 16 the center of Linda was located near 17.6, -126.4 with movement W at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 975 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

17 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA REFUSES TO WEAKEN... As of 5:00 PM HST Mon Aug 16 the center of Linda was located near 17.7, -125.4 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 970 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

16 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...LINDA A BIT WEAKER BUT STILL A CATEGORY 2 HURRICANE... As of 11:00 AM HST Mon Aug 16 the center of Linda was located near 17.7, -124.6 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 974 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 100 mph.

16 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA MAINTAINING INTENSITY... As of 5:00 AM HST Mon Aug 16 the center of Linda was located near 17.9, -123.7 with movement WSW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 972 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

16 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...LINDA BEGINNING TO WEAKEN AGAIN... As of 11:00 PM HST Sun Aug 15 the center of Linda was located near 18.2, -122.9 with movement WSW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 972 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

16 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA MAINTAINING STRENGTH... ...MOVING WEST-SOUTHWESTWARD OVER THE OPEN PACIFIC... As of 5:00 PM HST Sun Aug 15 the center of Linda was located near 18.6, -122.0 with movement WSW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 969 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 110 mph.

15 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...LINDA IS AN ANNULAR HURRICANE... ...ONLY GRADUAL WEAKENING EXPECTED DURING THE UPCOMING WEEK... As of 11:00 AM HST Sun Aug 15 the center of Linda was located near 18.8, -121.2 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 969 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 110 mph.

15 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA TAKING ON ANNULAR CHARACTERISTICS... ...EXPECTED TO WEAKEN GRADUALLY DURING THE UPCOMING WEEK... As of 5:00 AM HST Sun Aug 15 the center of Linda was located near 19.0, -120.2 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 962 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

15 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...LINDA CONTINUES TO GRADUALLY WEAKEN... ...HEADING DUE WEST OVER THE OPEN EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 2:00 AM PDT Sun Aug 15 the center of Linda was located near 19.3, -119.2 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 959 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

15 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA WEAKENS A LITTLE... ...STILL A POWERFUL MAJOR HURRICANE... As of 8:00 PM PDT Sat Aug 14 the center of Linda was located near 19.3, -118.2 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 955 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 125 mph.

14 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...POWERFUL LINDA STILL WITH 130 MPH WINDS OVER THE OPEN WATERS OF THE EASTERN NORTH PACIFIC... As of 2:00 PM PDT Sat Aug 14 the center of Linda was located near 19.1, -117.0 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 950 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 130 mph.

14 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA AT CATEGORY 4 STRENGTH OVER THE OPEN WATERS OF THE EASTERN NORTH PACIFIC... As of 8:00 AM PDT Sat Aug 14 the center of Linda was located near 18.8, -116.1 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 950 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 130 mph.

14 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...STRENGTHENING LINDA'S EYEWALL MOVING OVER CLARION ISLAND... ...HURRICANE FORCE GUSTS REPORTED... As of 3:00 AM MDT Sat Aug 14 the center of Linda was located near 18.4, -114.8 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 960 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 125 mph.

14 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA STRENGTHENS A LITTLE MORE... As of 9:00 PM MDT Fri Aug 13 the center of Linda was located near 17.9, -113.9 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 962 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 120 mph.

13 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...LINDA BECOMES A MAJOR HURRICANE... As of 3:00 PM MDT Fri Aug 13 the center of Linda was located near 17.5, -112.9 with movement WNW at 14 mph. The minimum central pressure was 965 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 115 mph.

13 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA CONTINUES TO STRENGTHEN... ...EYE PEEKING OUT... As of 9:00 AM MDT Fri Aug 13 the center of Linda was located near 16.9, -111.8 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 971 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 105 mph.

13 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...LINDA CONTINUES TO INTENSIFY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Fri Aug 13 the center of Linda was located near 16.4, -110.6 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 987 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 90 mph.

13 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA INTENSIFYING... As of 9:00 PM MDT Thu Aug 12 the center of Linda was located near 15.8, -109.6 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 985 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 85 mph.

12 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...LINDA FORECAST TO STRENGTHEN DURING THE NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS... As of 3:00 PM MDT Thu Aug 12 the center of Linda was located near 15.3, -108.7 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 990 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

12 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA BECOMES A HURRICANE... As of 9:00 AM MDT Thu Aug 12 the center of Linda was located near 14.8, -107.7 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 991 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 75 mph.

12 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...LINDA FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE LATER TODAY... As of 3:00 AM MDT Thu Aug 12 the center of Linda was located near 14.1, -107.1 with movement WNW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 993 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

12 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA TAKING A PAUSE ON INTENSIFICATION... ...STILL FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE TOMORROW... As of 9:00 PM MDT Wed Aug 11 the center of Linda was located near 13.6, -106.5 with movement W at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

11 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...LINDA A LITTLE STRONGER... ...LIKELY TO BECOME A HURRICANE TONIGHT... As of 3:00 PM MDT Wed Aug 11 the center of Linda was located near 13.6, -106.2 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 995 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 70 mph.

11 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...LINDA STRENGTHENING QUICKLY... ...LIKELY TO BECOME A HURRICANE TONIGHT... As of 10:00 AM CDT Wed Aug 11 the center of Linda was located near 13.8, -105.9 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 999 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 65 mph.

11 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...LINDA MOVING WESTWARD... ...STILL FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE LATER THIS WEEK... As of 4:00 AM CDT Wed Aug 11 the center of Linda was located near 14.2, -104.4 with movement W at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

11 Aug 2021 - 3:00 UTC ...LINDA INTENSIFYING... ...NOW FORECAST TO BECOME A HURRICANE LATE TOMORROW... As of 10:00 PM CDT Tue Aug 10 the center of Linda was located near 14.3, -103.5 with movement WNW at 9 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1001 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 50 mph.

10 Aug 2021 - 21:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION STRENGTHENS INTO TROPICAL STORM LINDA... As of 4:00 PM CDT Tue Aug 10 the center of Linda was located near 14.4, -102.8 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1003 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

10 Aug 2021 - 15:00 UTC ...TROPICAL DEPRESSION PARALLELING THE COAST OF SOUTHERN MEXICO... As of 10:00 AM CDT Tue Aug 10 the center of Twelve-E was located near 13.4, -101.5 with movement WNW at 10 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

10 Aug 2021 - 9:00 UTC ...NEW TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS OFFSHORE OF SOUTHERN MEXICO... As of 4:00 AM CDT Tue Aug 10 the center of Twelve-E was located near 13.0, -100.8 with movement WNW at 8 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
20 Aug 2021 - 22:51 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
20 Aug 2021 - 22:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour