NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
27 Nov 2022 - 10:54 EST
27 Nov 2022 - 15:54 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Paine at 18.3°N - 114.8°W

Last observation: 06 Oct 2022 - 04:41 UTC

North Pacific Ocean

« 2022 Storms »

3 Oct 2022 - 5 Oct 2022


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

5 Oct 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...PAINE BECOMES A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 3:00 PM MDT Wed Oct 5 the center of Paine was located near 18.3, -114.8 with movement WNW at 3 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1008 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 30 mph.

5 Oct 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...PAINE EXPECTED TO BECOME POST-TROPICAL THIS AFTERNOON... As of 9:00 AM MDT Wed Oct 5 the center of Paine was located near 18.4, -114.5 with movement NW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

5 Oct 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...PAINE CLOSE TO BECOMING POST-TROPICAL... As of 3:00 AM MDT Wed Oct 5 the center of Paine was located near 18.3, -114.3 with movement NW at 5 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

5 Oct 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...PAINE BECOMING LESS ORGANIZED AND MOVING INTO A LESS FAVORABLE ENVIRONMENT... As of 9:00 PM MDT Tue Oct 4 the center of Paine was located near 18.1, -114.0 with movement NW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

4 Oct 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...PAINE A LITTLE STRONGER... As of 3:00 PM MDT Tue Oct 4 the center of Paine was located near 17.8, -113.3 with movement NW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

4 Oct 2022 - 15:00 UTC ...PAINE CONTINUES OVER THE EASTERN PACIFIC WITH NO CHANGE IN INTENSITY... As of 9:00 AM MDT Tue Oct 4 the center of Paine was located near 17.5, -113.0 with movement NW at 7 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Oct 2022 - 9:00 UTC ...PAINE MOVING NORTHWESTWARD... As of 3:00 AM MDT Tue Oct 4 the center of Paine was located near 16.9, -112.6 with movement NW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

4 Oct 2022 - 3:00 UTC ...PAINE MAINTAINING ITS INTENSITY... As of 9:00 PM MDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Paine was located near 16.5, -112.3 with movement NNW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

3 Oct 2022 - 21:00 UTC ...DISTURBANCE BECOMES TROPICAL STORM PAINE... As of 3:00 PM MDT Mon Oct 3 the center of Paine was located near 15.9, -112.0 with movement NNW at 6 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1006 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

Post-tropical Cyclone Paine at 18.3°N - 114.8°W

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

GLM FED

Lightning flash extent density over GeoColor
6 Oct 2022 - 04:46 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB to distinguish clouds from fog
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB based on data from IR & water vapor
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
6 Oct 2022 - 04:40 UTC

Last update > 1 hour