NOAA GOES Image Viewer website
1 Dec 2021 - 06:39 EST
1 Dec 2021 - 11:39 UTC

Post-tropical Cyclone Polo at 16.9°N - 121.3°W

North Pacific Ocean

« 2020 Storms »

17 Nov 2020 - 19 Nov 2020


Storm images and information

NHC Storm Description:

19 Nov 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...OVER COOLER WATER, POLO DEGENERATES INTO A REMNANT LOW... ...THIS IS THE LAST ADVISORY... As of 1:00 PM PST Thu Nov 19 the center of Polo was located near 16.9, -121.3 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

19 Nov 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...POLO NOW A TROPICAL DEPRESSION... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW LATER TODAY... As of 7:00 AM PST Thu Nov 19 the center of Polo was located near 17.1, -120.3 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

19 Nov 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...POLO WEAKENS WHILE MOVING WESTWARD... ...EXPECTED TO BECOME A REMNANT LOW LATER TODAY... As of 1:00 AM PST Thu Nov 19 the center of Polo was located near 17.1, -119.3 with movement W at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1005 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 40 mph.

19 Nov 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...POLO MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD AND EXPECTED TO WEAKEN LATER TONIGHT... As of 7:00 PM PST Wed Nov 18 the center of Polo was located near 16.9, -118.3 with movement WNW at 13 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

18 Nov 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM POLO CONTINUES MOVING WEST-NORTHWESTWARD WELL SOUTHWEST OF MEXICO... As of 1:00 PM PST Wed Nov 18 the center of Polo was located near 16.5, -117.2 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

18 Nov 2020 - 15:00 UTC ...TROPICAL STORM POLO FORMS WELL SOUTHWEST OF MEXICO... As of 7:00 AM PST Wed Nov 18 the center of Polo was located near 16.3, -116.0 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1004 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 45 mph.

18 Nov 2020 - 9:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION COULD BRIEFLY BECOME A TROPICAL STORM LATER TODAY BEFORE WEAKENING ON THURSDAY... As of 1:00 AM PST Wed Nov 18 the center of Twenty-one-E was located near 15.7, -115.2 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

18 Nov 2020 - 3:00 UTC ...DEPRESSION CONTINUES WEST-NORTHWESTWARD OVER THE EASTERN TROPICAL PACIFIC... As of 8:00 PM MST Tue Nov 17 the center of Twenty-One-E was located near 15.5, -114.3 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

17 Nov 2020 - 21:00 UTC ...LATE-SEASON TROPICAL DEPRESSION FORMS OVER THE OPEN WATERS OF THE EASTERN PACIFIC... As of 3:00 PM MDT Tue Nov 17 the center of Twenty-One-E was located near 15.2, -113.3 with movement WNW at 12 mph. The minimum central pressure was 1007 mb with maximum sustained winds of about 35 mph.

Storm no longer tracked

GeoColor

True Color daytime, multispectral IR at night
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Error
GLM FED

Images unavailable for this channel.

Day Convection

RGB used to identify areas of rapid intensification
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Night Microphysics

RGB used to distinguish clouds from fog
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Sandwich RGB

Multi-spectral blend combines IR band 13 with visual band 3
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Day Land Cloud

EUMETSAT Natural Color
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

AirMass RGB

RGB composite based on the data from IR and WV
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour


Band 1

0.47 µm
Blue - Visible
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 2

0.64 µm
Red - Visible
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 3

0.86 µm
Veggie - Near IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 4

1.37 µm
Cirrus - Near IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 5

1.6 µm
Snow/Ice - Near IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 6

2.2 µm
Cloud Particle - Near IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 7

3.9 µm
Shortwave Window - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 8

6.2 µm
Upper-Level Water Vapor - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 9

6.9 µm
Mid-Level Water Vapor - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 10

7.3 µm
Lower-level Water Vapor - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 11

8.4 µm
Cloud Top - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 12

9.6 µm
Ozone - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 13

10.3 µm
Clean Longwave Window - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 14

11.2 µm
Longwave Window - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 15

12.3 µm
Dirty Longwave Window - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour

Band 16

13.3 µm
CO₂ Longwave - IR
20 Nov 2020 - 04:50 UTC

Last update > 1 hour